Sancocho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
I do not know about the history of this dish, however I took the plaintains and sliced them, smashed them into patties and fried them on an open skillet and served them next to this dish. No plaintains were added to my soup. I used Yucca root in place of cassava. They are easier to find and I believe they are the same food. Soup was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
Both Sancocho and Ajiaco are Colombian soups. BTW, Panama was part of Colombia until 1903, so it should not be surprising that we share that dish. There is also a Dominican Sancocho. In any form, all these dishes are delicious. Enjoy them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
This is a great dish, pretty easy too, one of my friends and I made it in my dorm kitchen for a class project (really impressed the teacher). Half a recipe is more than enough for 6 people. Made a lot of friends with this recipe :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Hill, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
All I can say is... Yum! Very authentic. The only thing I added to the recipe is a boullion cube and corn to the soup. I serve rice and avacado alongside. Try it! It's great for a cold weather meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
My husband is from Colombia, and this is just as good as our recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Delicious! Very simple, good and cheap! Leg quarters are usually inexpensive and the veggies didn't cost much either. I was hesitant about the plantain but it's good!! I couldn't find yucca but it still turned out great. The onion and tomato topping is a must!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I was very glad to find a good recipe for sancocho on here! It was one of my favorite things when I lived in Panama. Incidentally, several people are a bit confused with terminology, so I wanted to clear this up: cassava = yuca = tapioca. They are identical, just different names for the exact same plant. So you don't need to substitute yuca for cassava... it's the same! Also, it's "yuca" not "yucca". The later is a completely different plant and not related to the one used here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
THIS IS A DELISIOUS SOUP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
FYI - AJIACO is the national Colombian chicken soup. SANCOCHO is the national Panamanian chicken soup, made w/cassava and culantro only. Credit where credit is due!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
Such a delicate flavor from such a hearty soup! The different textures and flavors has made this our new "Sunday family dinner" favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States