Sancocho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I'm from Barranquilla, Colombia currently living in the States. I made this recipe, but I added corn, cilantro, some Tabasco sauce and instead of cassava I added yucca. That's the way my family has made sancochos all the time. It's very tasty, I really liked it. I would really suggest replacing cassava with yucca. You can also try replacing the chicken with ribs(sancocho de costilla)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barranquilla, Atlantico, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Although this recipe is very good, it lacks the amount of cilantro that is normally found in traditional sancocho. My wife is hot off the boat from Colombia and when she makes it she uses close to one cup of cilantro and adds a spice blend similar to Sazon(Goya section) that puts it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
Both Sancocho and Ajiaco are Colombian soups. BTW, Panama was part of Colombia until 1903, so it should not be surprising that we share that dish. There is also a Dominican Sancocho. In any form, all these dishes are delicious. Enjoy them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
THIS IS A DELISIOUS SOUP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
All I can say is... Yum! Very authentic. The only thing I added to the recipe is a boullion cube and corn to the soup. I serve rice and avacado alongside. Try it! It's great for a cold weather meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I was very glad to find a good recipe for sancocho on here! It was one of my favorite things when I lived in Panama. Incidentally, several people are a bit confused with terminology, so I wanted to clear this up: cassava = yuca = tapioca. They are identical, just different names for the exact same plant. So you don't need to substitute yuca for cassava... it's the same! Also, it's "yuca" not "yucca". The later is a completely different plant and not related to the one used here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This was a good soup. Not as hearty as the Caribbean version, the one from the Dominican Republic has more ingredients: Culantro, cilantro, more root vegetables, different meats, chicken, beef, sausage. I will upload my dominican version soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mcintyreknox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Very good. I like the thought of eating an authentic Columbian dish. Very good, and interesting textures. Maybe a little plain though, but I think that may be the way Columbian food is supposed to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Taste just like the Sancocho I had growing up in Panama! A few changes to make it more Panamanian: Leave out the onion/tomato garnish (the soup really doesn't need it), add a can of corn, triple the cilantro, and if you don't have yucca or calabasa don't worry about it add more potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Tip: Cassava and Yucca are one and the same. You can find frozen Yucca (skin removed & par boiled) in specialty food stores. Goya is one brand that processes Yucca. Just thaw and remove the woody vein in the center before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States