Sancocho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
THIS IS A DELISIOUS SOUP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
Such a delicate flavor from such a hearty soup! The different textures and flavors has made this our new "Sunday family dinner" favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
FYI - AJIACO is the national Colombian chicken soup. SANCOCHO is the national Panamanian chicken soup, made w/cassava and culantro only. Credit where credit is due!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
Both Sancocho and Ajiaco are Colombian soups. BTW, Panama was part of Colombia until 1903, so it should not be surprising that we share that dish. There is also a Dominican Sancocho. In any form, all these dishes are delicious. Enjoy them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
I do not know about the history of this dish, however I took the plaintains and sliced them, smashed them into patties and fried them on an open skillet and served them next to this dish. No plaintains were added to my soup. I used Yucca root in place of cassava. They are easier to find and I believe they are the same food. Soup was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Made this for my Colombian family and they were impressed with the authenticity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
This is a great dish, pretty easy too, one of my friends and I made it in my dorm kitchen for a class project (really impressed the teacher). Half a recipe is more than enough for 6 people. Made a lot of friends with this recipe :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Hill, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Delicious, almost as great as my mother's. I was born and raised in Colombia and everyone there calls this sancocho, I'll continue to do the same. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
My husband is from Colombia, and this is just as good as our recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This was not a bad dish, but certainly not worth the effort involved. The cassava root was hard to peel considering that it ended up tasting like a potato. Actually, everything in the stew (other than the chicken) tasted like a potato, only starchier. However, the chicken was delicious. My husband and I decided to remove the chicken from the bones and keep the onions and tomatoes topping. We’ll eat them together as leftovers. Judging from the other reviews, I think this makes a great cultural comfort food. It just wasn’t for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiet_place

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States