Sancocho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
There is also a Sancocho we make in PR! I am not going to argue about authenticity and such...that's not important!! It's the equivalent of arguing about Dim Sum, TOO MANY VERSIONS!! Anyways... what's important is the actual review of this particular recipe. I don't care for bones (yeah, it adds flavor and blah blah) so I used boneless chicken thighs, a bit more garlic, YUCA root and CASSAVA root are the SAME THING!!!! Look it up!! The color of the sancocho is not appetizing and I wasn't 100% happy with the flavor. It was edible (got to have fresh bread to dip in the juices, in my case) and it was altogether ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Tip: Cassava and Yucca are one and the same. You can find frozen Yucca (skin removed & par boiled) in specialty food stores. Goya is one brand that processes Yucca. Just thaw and remove the woody vein in the center before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
After reviewing a WeightWatchers' recipe - I used sweet potatoe instead of regular potatoes and a can of pureed pumpkin. I also used cubed, cooked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOLYVIVE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I enjoyed making this recipe, I did add some hominy when I added the potatoes, I didn't use cassava because I used what I had on hand. Also, when making the tomato sauce I threw in some spicy peppers to give it a little kick, it was worth it. Will prob. make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
All I can say is... Yum! Very authentic. The only thing I added to the recipe is a boullion cube and corn to the soup. I serve rice and avacado alongside. Try it! It's great for a cold weather meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I browned the chicken (used skinless thighs), plantain and onion in olive oil first (boiled meat looks especially gross imo). The chicken turned out ok, and I didn't mind the root veggies, but the plantain was dry, tasteless, and generally horrible. I'm glad I tried this but I wouldn't make it again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Although this recipe is very good, it lacks the amount of cilantro that is normally found in traditional sancocho. My wife is hot off the boat from Colombia and when she makes it she uses close to one cup of cilantro and adds a spice blend similar to Sazon(Goya section) that puts it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
My husband is from Colombia and I've made this stew a few times for him before and he just loves it. He said it seems pretty true to the sancocho he used to have back at home. The only problem I've found is that 4 lbs of cassava and 2 lbs of potato is just too much. Also 4 lg. onions for the topping is exessive as well. I ended up having to use 2 lg pots to cook the stew. In the future I plan to use 1/2 the amount of potatos and cassava so I can cook everything together. The recipe really ends up serving a lot more than 6 people; we ended up getting 10 servings or so. We couldn't find leg quarters at the store but used chicken breasts on the bone and it worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna M.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I'm from Barranquilla, Colombia currently living in the States. I made this recipe, but I added corn, cilantro, some Tabasco sauce and instead of cassava I added yucca. That's the way my family has made sancochos all the time. It's very tasty, I really liked it. I would really suggest replacing cassava with yucca. You can also try replacing the chicken with ribs(sancocho de costilla)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barranquilla, Atlantico, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Very good. I like the thought of eating an authentic Columbian dish. Very good, and interesting textures. Maybe a little plain though, but I think that may be the way Columbian food is supposed to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States