San Francisco Style Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
absolutely FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Made these last night. Excellent. Now Chef John, if I want to add raisins and cinnamon, exactly how much would I use and when do I add?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
These were not bad, but I just did not get the crispness that was shown in the video, but I am no pro so that may explain it. But, in retrospect the bagels made a mean sandwich so can't complain!!! Thanks Chef John for another fantastic recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This recipe is ok. I found another recipe that recommended broiling them for 2 min per side before boiling. It makes a huge difference in the quality of the bagel. The crust that is formed during broiling helps it hold up when boiling. I tried it both ways. Though both are edible, the one that was broiled first was much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Very easy and very delicious. Its worth trying to try making your own bagels. I've tried it with real maple syrup instead of honey for a slightly different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I made this in my bread maker and baked it as a loaf. I added 1/4 cup agave syrup to add the sweetness missed from the boiling stage. It made a beautiful bread. Sweet, chewy, tender texture. Delicious bagel taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lucininiz
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very tasty, but I'm from Argentina and this was the first time I made them because I've never eaten bagels and I wanted to try them. But I love bread and I thought that these were very good. I recommned adding a little bit more of salt, I added 2 tsp. I made them with all-purpose flour and they turned out good, I just let the dough proof a bit longer just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucininiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Dough was not stiff enough. Fell apart when it got wet. Couldn't take the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Best Bagel I have ever eaten
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
these were so simple. I don't know why I have been buying bagels all these years. Great tasting doesn't even describe how good they are
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States