San Francisco Style Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
These bagels kicked store bought bagel's butt! I used high gluten flour and add some diastatic malt powder. Topped them with poppy seeds. Chef John, you are my hero!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Bonnie
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
My daughter and I decided to make these for Easter brunch. They were not only easy but they tasted great too. My favorite bagel place bagels are “Everything” and “Jalapeno-Cheese”. I was able to create both easily. Before baking I just used the egg wash as a glue for the Everything bagel toppings. For the Jalapeno Cheese bagel, I crumbled pepper jack cheese around the top (after egg wash) then added sliced fresh jalapenos on top of the cheese with a little more egg wash to help them stick before baking. These were FANTASTIC! This week I’m going to make cinnamon and honey. Thank you again Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
These were so easy and I loved that I could use my KitchenAid mixer easily for these. My daughter requested them with Parmesan, fiesta cheese, and sesame seeds. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada
Photo by MuratZIRHLI
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This has instantly replaced my old and more complicated recipe. I changed the serving to 12 and made 10 of them with cinnamon and raisins. Only problem was I put 2 trays in the oven at once, so it took forever to bake. I changed them up and down; took them out and put back in… tortured the recipe. Surprisingly, they came out perfect. Love from Istanbul, Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Yum! I made these for the family and they inhaled them. Even the plain have more flavor than any specialty store. So then I made them for a teen swim team and they came back for seconds and thirds. You know a recipe is a success when you can serve it to a crowd! To speed things up, I combined steps 1 & 2 in a bread machine on standard cycle without any noticeable loss in flavor or texture .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
First, 1 lb of bread flour is a little over 3 cups. The bagels were very good and my family loved them. My modifications were minor... I did broil the bagels (on high, middle rack) for 2 min per side before boiling since the dough seemed a little wet. I boiled with 2 tablespoons of sugar (no salt) because I wanted to top with garlic salt and Parmesan. Instead of an egg wash, I used olive oil. My family lives them and requests them all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookie
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Just made these wonderful bagels. Didn't change a thing. Varied the toppings, and they were a huge success! Thank you Chef John! Perfect New York bagels with less dough (although some did rise a bit more than others).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made these more like Montreal-style bagels by adding sugar to the dough and rolling the dough into ropes and hand forming the bagels by joining the ends. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Never made bagels before and these were excellent! 1 lb of bread flour was about 3-1/2 cups, but did add a bit more as they were still a bit too moist. Next time, I'd use less salt in the water bath and adjust by adding more honey. It is important to make sure your baking sheet is prepared with parchment as once you do the egg wash they will otherwise stick (even with some cornmeal. I forgot to do this on one sheet (whoops), but got them off while they were still hot. Next time I may experiment by adding cheeses or changing using half wheat flour to "attempt" to add some more nutrition to the bagel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States