San Francisco Style Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I love Montreal bagels so I was hoping for a similar bagel. There is some similarity, but still did not hit the mark for my dream bagels. I would add less salt to the boiling water next time. Thanks for sharing Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
These bagels were easy to make and we all loved them. I made some sesame and some salt. I will try to make everything ones this weekend. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
these are the best bagels I have ever made once you get use to making them you can start adding what you like I am a everything bagel girl and OMG these are awesome really give them a try you will never buy a store bought bagel again easy and really really good great recipe Chef John like always
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
The flavor was very good and would have been better had I some sesame seeds or poppy seeds. Couldn't find them so MUST have used them up and forgotten. I know he said they were CHEWY, and boy he was right, I tried one without toasting and it was really tough. I even had a HARD time cutting them, but once they were toasted, YUMMY and CRUNCHY. I gave some to a friend and she too found them hard to cut, but delicious after toasting. I'm going to try again hoping to not have them not so tough the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by islandgirlejfan
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
These were fun! They are a little different then what we are used to, but they are very flavorful and I could see doing some different things with them in the future....poppy seed, garlic, cheese toppings. My only complaint is you would need to make them the night before in order to enjoy them in the morning....makes you really appreciate neighborhood bakeries! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirlejfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I doubled the recipe and halved again the number of bagels (so originally 8 is now 12) - yielded larger bagels great for sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Awesome, these are well worth it and not nearly as painful as making other bagels. I made this recipe with half whole wheat flour the second time around - yummy!! Thank you so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
tasty, chewy--- added course sea salt a small amount of poppy seeds and garlic powder along with sesame seeds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
these were so simple. I don't know why I have been buying bagels all these years. Great tasting doesn't even describe how good they are
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Best Bagel I have ever eaten
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States