San Francisco Style Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
absolutely FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Made these last night. Excellent. Now Chef John, if I want to add raisins and cinnamon, exactly how much would I use and when do I add?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
These were not bad, but I just did not get the crispness that was shown in the video, but I am no pro so that may explain it. But, in retrospect the bagels made a mean sandwich so can't complain!!! Thanks Chef John for another fantastic recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This recipe is ok. I found another recipe that recommended broiling them for 2 min per side before boiling. It makes a huge difference in the quality of the bagel. The crust that is formed during broiling helps it hold up when boiling. I tried it both ways. Though both are edible, the one that was broiled first was much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Very easy and very delicious. Its worth trying to try making your own bagels. I've tried it with real maple syrup instead of honey for a slightly different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I made this in my bread maker and baked it as a loaf. I added 1/4 cup agave syrup to add the sweetness missed from the boiling stage. It made a beautiful bread. Sweet, chewy, tender texture. Delicious bagel taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lucininiz
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very tasty, but I'm from Argentina and this was the first time I made them because I've never eaten bagels and I wanted to try them. But I love bread and I thought that these were very good. I recommned adding a little bit more of salt, I added 2 tsp. I made them with all-purpose flour and they turned out good, I just let the dough proof a bit longer just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucininiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Dough was not stiff enough. Fell apart when it got wet. Couldn't take the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Best Bagel I have ever eaten
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
these were so simple. I don't know why I have been buying bagels all these years. Great tasting doesn't even describe how good they are
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States