San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is my husband's favorite bread! It took a couple months to really get our starter to the point of a strong sour dough flavor, but in the mean time I made everything with this bread recipe - even my cinnamon rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeqJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I found this recipe to be very tasty. It had a good texture. I was worried about trying to make it here in Georgia because the atmosphere (humidity and the like) is so different from San Fran. But it was really, really good. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I used Sourdough Starter from Esther Nelson (wonderful) but had to add more flour as I kneaded the dough (summertime in Florida). I shaped the dough into rolls but when I brushed them with egg white, they deflated!?! Not very pretty but very good flavor! (omitted onion this time but will use next)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I just moved to San Francisco Bay area so I thought this would be sort of a Christening for me. I too used slightly deviated ingredients to my liking, but my dough didn't rise as well even though I did use a 2 day old starter, maybe that wasn't long enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I made this bread 2 days ago. I followed the recipe to a T when it comes to contents, though I put the bread loaves into 2 bread tins simply because I like the shape. Also, I always leave an extra hour when making bread as I like to have one extra rise, it makes the bread even, light and fluffy. I also spray the oven walls right before and twice during baking with cool water underneath the wire rack. It makes for a crispy crust. These loaves came out wonderful, light, fluffy, and with just the right sourness to them. One thing I regret is having put onion on both as it would have been nice to use one as breakfast toast with preserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Awesome bread! I omitted the onions on top though and they turned out not only delicious but also beautiful! I will be making this in mini versions during the winter months to make mini chili bowls! I will be using this recipe over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherkelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I made this recipe a couple of times and the second time I used one cup of 50/50 wheat flour and put kosher salt on the top after the egg wash. It was spectacular! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
pretty darn good. I use water instead of milk as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
OK as a white bread. Small holes. To develop more sour flavor, time is needed for the lactobacillus bacteria in the starter to produce more lactic acid. Though the strain does vary regionally, time can produce more sour flavor. Given enough time, you won't need to even add additional "booster" yeast as the yeast in your starter would have enough time to produce the rise. Another recipe calls for an intermediate between starter and dough that sits for nearly 2 days (part at RT, mostly in fridge), then making the dough which again sits overnight in the fridge before baking. Very sour and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This bread was okay - I especially liked the added onions on top. It allows me, as well, to expand upon what I can do. I cooked the entire batch of bread in my cloche oven (ceramic oven) for 20 minutes with the cover on and 20 minutes with it off. Basically, until it turns brown. It made perfect bread that was as light as a feather. However next time I think I will separate this into two loaves for a more "artisan" effect. I rate this 4 stars because it was good, but to me it wasn't "the most awesome thing since sliced bread."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Plains, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States