San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by cz375hh
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is our go to #1 will not fail bread--Herman is maturing and keeps getting better. Made 2 loaves for our family & friends Easter dinner gathering. Lots of compliments, request for the recipe, and a nice tally of people getting up for seconds and thirds of just bread which does not need butter.Will submit a photo later
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cz375hh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
really nice sour dough bread from a starter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soupy
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I made this bread dough in my bread machine. Then I cooked it in the oven. We loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by FluffySama
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This recipe made a bread that was DELICIOUS. It's somehow dense and light at the same time (I can't explain it, but that's definitely a good thing), and very sweet in addition to the tang I expect from sour dough. It wasn't QUITE as sour as I'd like, but I was using a pretty immature starter... and it was a sweet starter (The "Amish Friendship Bread Starter" from allrecipes). Like another reviewer, I used water instead of milk and did not add any water to the egg wash, just the egg! Because of that first change my rise times took quite a lot longer, almost 3 hours the first time and more than 2 the second; definitely worth it, though. I microwaved water in a pyrex measuring cup until the microwave was good and warm and let them rise in there; perfect! I also sprinkled sesame seeds on top with the egg wash, I couldn't resist! Bet my neighbors will love their loaf for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I've made this recipe twice now, and I'm planning on continuing experimenting with it, and making more tweaks until I get it how I want it. The first time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly, and I ended up having to add water because the dough was WAY too dry, and the resulting loafs were way too dense for my taste...although they were great for making a garlic cheese loaf appetizer. The second time I made this I let the yeast proof for 10 minutes in the warm milk and sugar before adding the rest of the ingredients, and I added the flour one cup at a time. These alterations made for a much better rise, and the loafs were lighter, flufier, and tastier. Next time, I'm going do the same alterations as my 'take 2', and also take the advise of a much longer rise time, as well as the egg white only egg wash...I'm also hoping that my starter is more matured by then too, for a better sour flavor, its only 2 weeks old right now but its getting better every day. I'm hoping to use this recipe, with alterations, for some dinner rolls soon too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by John Bolton
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I've made a number of sourdough bread recipe. This is one I will use often because it is not labor intensive and the flavor is mild. JT's idea of sesame seeds is great. I made it in two loaf pans and it makes great toast or sandwich bread. Crispy crust & soft crumb. Not as chewy as other sourdough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Bolton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This is a great recipe! I'm new to sourdoughs, but it came out wonderful. Used half to make sourdough bread bowls with my crab bisque. Hubby thought it was so good, he asked me to make more bowls for the leftover bisque! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This bread was very easy and tasted good. We really enjoyed it for french toast. I will make again soon to see how much my sourdough starter has changed. I did not add the onions or do the egg wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was just ok. I left my starter out for almost 2 weeks, feeding it, etc., etc. (Used the "Sourdough Starter" recipe from this site). After 8 days, I tried to make it without adding the additional yeast per the reviewer who claims to be a san francisco sourdough guru. I didn't just have to leave it for 2-3 hours, it was actually 2 days later that it still hadn't risen to double. Had to throw the batch out. The second time around I added the yeast per the recipe (proofed it first) and still found it took over 1.5 hours to double the first time. One hour for the second rise. Cooked it 40 minutes and the crust was still soft and the insides somewhat spongy. This bread just wasn't sour enough to be a good sourdough and too sour to be a good white. The outcome just was't nearly worth the effort. Sorry! I love the Mama D's Italian bread recipe from this site and make it twice a week. I think I will stick with that from now on and just buy my sourdough at the bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
It's not the best bread I have ever had in my entire life, but it was still really good. My starter is only 10 days or so old, so it's not particularly sour, but it smells to high heaven before being used and it's made three loaves in the bread machine with a distinct sour taste. This wasn't so much sour, but it was really tasty fresh from the oven with a thin layer of butter. I made two loaves in loaf pans instead of rounds on a baking sheet, one without onions on top and the other with, and it worked out well. The crust is thick and crunchy, and smells like pretzels. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleBitFae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States