San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
OK as a white bread. Small holes. To develop more sour flavor, time is needed for the lactobacillus bacteria in the starter to produce more lactic acid. Though the strain does vary regionally, time can produce more sour flavor. Given enough time, you won't need to even add additional "booster" yeast as the yeast in your starter would have enough time to produce the rise. Another recipe calls for an intermediate between starter and dough that sits for nearly 2 days (part at RT, mostly in fridge), then making the dough which again sits overnight in the fridge before baking. Very sour and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This bread was okay - I especially liked the added onions on top. It allows me, as well, to expand upon what I can do. I cooked the entire batch of bread in my cloche oven (ceramic oven) for 20 minutes with the cover on and 20 minutes with it off. Basically, until it turns brown. It made perfect bread that was as light as a feather. However next time I think I will separate this into two loaves for a more "artisan" effect. I rate this 4 stars because it was good, but to me it wasn't "the most awesome thing since sliced bread."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Excellent flavour if you are using a really good starter (thank you Redneck Gramma xox), but like other reviewers said, it does give a light, fluffy texture and not the dense, chewy texture one expects from a sourdough bread. I will keep experimenting with this one while looking for a 'true' Sourdough that has the chewy texture they are so well known for.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
More like a sour french bread but delicious nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I really don't know how to rate this bread. I made it per the directions with the exception of using AP flour instead of bread flour and butter in the place of margarine. I also used only an egg wash on top; no onions. This bread turned out amazingly good. I think that as a sourdough it probably flunks. It wasn't very sour, which I attribute to using a relatively young starter. Also, although the egg wash produced a lovely presentation the bread was in no way crusty like a true sourdough. It had a nice chewy crust and a super tender crumb. I made three small baguettes and baked them after the second rise. I formed the rest of the dough into 24 rolls, slashed the tops and froze on a baking sheet. When they were solid I put them in a zipper bag. I can take out any number I need, let them thaw and rise and bake. I've now made wonderful fresh, hot rolls with a minimum of effort and just a little forethought. What made these a real winner for me was that the rolls and bread were so good on the second day. Lots of yeast bread recipes are good coming out of the oven but the real test is how good they are the next day. These were just as good - still tender and delicious. All in all a great recipe I plan to use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
The bread came out great, made it in 2 loaf pans. I didn't use an eggwash, just brushed it with water when I put it in the oven and brushed it twice more while baking, which gave it a great crunchy crust. Also did not put onions on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blanchard, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This recipie is one of the best I have used for sour dough. I was a little weary about the onions but now....... I love it. As long as you have a good starter, this recipie is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Regarding a previous comment that your location creates different sour flavors doesn't apply. Starters are usually kept in the refridgerator, not at room temperature. Like others comments, this is a good starter for white bread, but this is not true sour dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fdparker2001
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This was my very FIRST home made bread and it was awesome! I had an amateur starter so the "sour" taste was absent (quick and easy starter from this site). However, the bread was moist with a slight crisp on the outside. After it cooled from the oven, I tightly wrapped in foil and used the next day for French toast. Topped with caramelized bananas and walnuts, this breakfast was fit for a queen. I'm hooked on fresh bread now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fdparker2001
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I have never tasted San Francisco bread so can't compare, just chose this recipe as I had an immature starter and wanted to do something with the waste - It turned out gorgeous, absolutely perfect! I used the egg wash and red onion on the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States