San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I also use water instead of milk and don't add the onion on top, but other than that, it is an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Excellent recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrSeussFreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This was so good the kids ate it up!! I left off the onions sliced and made into garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Steward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Delicious! I don't know if "San Francisco" has a different taste than anyother bread; but this one was a delicious sourdough bread, even without the chopped onions. I used my own starter that I prepared for 5 days prior to making the loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Very tasty bread, but not what I was hoping for. I used the "Herman" starter - maybe that was too sweet? I also substituted 1 C of the bread flour with whole wheat flour. The initial rise took several hours and wasn't as much as I would expect. The second rise also took a long time (overnight). Maybe the yeast should have been proofed first, but I'll blame it on the starter for now. I'm going to try a different starter and will report back. (I also left off the onions for the reasons stated by others.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Very easy and forgiving recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Very tasty. I used the Sourdough Starter II recipe for my starter and the bread was easy and turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Yummy! I followed this recipe to a "T" and it turned out great! SO good fresh out of the oven with some butter. Can't wait to make the next loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I take three days to make this bread. The first day, I measure out my starter and add 3 TBLS flour, stir (leave it chunky!), and let rest until day two. On day two, I mix up my dough, using water instead of milk, oil instead of butter, 1 full TBLS of salt instead of 2.5 tsp., and I add 1/4 C vital wheat gluten. I use my KA mixer, add all the ingredients except the last 3-ish cups of the flour, and using the paddle beat the out of the batter to get the gluten forming. I add the rest of the flour, knead, put it in an oiled bowl and cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate overnight for a slow rise. On day three, I remove from fridge, form my loaves, let rise, and bake. If I'm feeling extra-adventurous, I form the loaves, cover, and refrigerate them overnight for another slow rise. I don't use the onion or egg wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This is a wonderful delicious bread. It had a light tang to it due to the sourdough starter. However, it did not have the density that I would expect from a San Francisco Sourdough. Instead, it was light and the mouth feel was more like the French bread that they bake in the grocery stores (though the taste of this was much better). My husband loved the taste and texture of this bread, and I do, too, it's just not a true sourdough to me. I baked two loaves specifically for use in grilled cheese sandwiches. Again, my husband thought the texture was great, but I didn't think it held up well to hardier ingredients (there's no way, for instance, that this would work for a sourdough burger). Although I'm only giving it 4 stars, I will make this bread again. It's a good every day bread, especially for kids (my daughter doesn't like crust but was willing to eat it on this bread). I missed the chewiness of a true sourdough, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States