San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Great recipe with a few modifications. First off I don't care for the onion so I eliminated the egg, water and onion from the recipe. Second, using "all" bread flour makes it too fluffy and difficult to cut so I cut the flour 50/50 with general purpose and bread flour. I don't raise my bread in front of a heat source. I lightly oil a large bowl and the dough ball, and place it on a surface where there is good normal room temperature. No direct sun just steady temps. I raise mine for at least two sometimes three hours. I punch the dough down, let it rest for 15 then divide and form my loaves. I do not over handle my dough. I cut it in half, form it and put it on a cookie sheet to raise an additional two hours. I also lightly spray the loaves with oil, mainly to keep the plastic wrap from sticking. I weigh my flour. There is so much variance in packed and unpacked flour I found 120 grams per cup works perfectly every time. I only use King Arthur flours. These flours are non Bro-mated and healthier. If you are diabetic or pre-diabetic, Sourdough has been shown to be better for you. Or at least not as bad as other breads. The sour in the sourdough slows digestion thus slowing the rapid rise in blood glucose that all other flours do. Just a tid bit fact. Do the research yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This recipe turned out AMAZING - the bread was very soft after rising beautifully and had a very nice dark- golden outside. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
im not sure whether or not it was my starter, but my bread came out tasting more like just plain old white bread. I topped it with garlic though, and it was still pretty delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I made this with my 5-day old starter and they are fabulous! I halved the recipe and made rolls with it, baking them in a muffin tin. The rolls are a great alternative, with less baking time and more of the yummy crust:bread ratio. Recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made this bread today using the sourdough starter from Esther. It was awesome!! The rising took more than an hour but who cares! The bread was restaurant quality if not better than the restaurant. Instructions were easy. A beginner could make this and have great Results. Thank you for posting!! I am looking forwards to taking it To the church potlucks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Noxon, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Very good. I halved the recipe to make 1 loaf and followed the ingredients exactly. I did use my bread machine on the dough cycle and then put into a loaf pan and set in oven with bowl of boiling water, for the second rise (for an hour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HOPEFULCRAFTY1
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Simply Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOPEFULCRAFTY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by KuTisM
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
For what it is, with an added commercial yeast, it's a nice sandwich bread. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KuTisM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I like it. Soooooooooo! GoooooooooooD! Our dog got a hold of it while we were gone and ate 1/2 of a loaf, so she liked it to. It was wrap and setting on the counter top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I have made this several times and it is amazing. It slices well for sandwiches or toast, and it tastes great every time. I did not have luck using the dough setting on the bread machine, guess it does have to be hand-kneaded, but it's actually pretty fun. I used the "Sourdough Starter II" recipe from this website for the starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States