San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Love this sourdough bread, though the sourdough taste is very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Makes -great- toast. The onion compliments well, and for next loaf I am going to mix in 1/4 cup minced onion. I wonder what baking in fresh garlic from my garden would add? One tweak at a time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I baked in a Romertopf Clay Pot so it had a great crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
First of all, I have a well established starter to work with, so that helps. This recipe is awesome! I don't put onions on top, but other wise, I follow it exactly with perfect results every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erika55734

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This was very good. I used this recipe to make two loaves with my week-old starter. I made it completely by hand, and found the hour rise was not quite enough, despite being in my oven with the light on. I also found the 30 minutes bake time too long. A couple weeks later, I made this recipe with my KitchenaAid, and shaped them into large kaiser rolls. Delicious with our pulled pork sandwiches! Maybe it was because my starter had aged, or because I let the dough rise for over two hours each stage. Either way, I cooked the rolls for 13 minutes at 375 degrees....perfect! (and I skipped the onion and egg wash both times). Will save to my favorites as a go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MerrillCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cz375hh
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is our go to #1 will not fail bread--Herman is maturing and keeps getting better. Made 2 loaves for our family & friends Easter dinner gathering. Lots of compliments, request for the recipe, and a nice tally of people getting up for seconds and thirds of just bread which does not need butter.Will submit a photo later
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cz375hh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
really nice sour dough bread from a starter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soupy
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This time I made the recipe with 1/2 cup quick oats 1/4 cup wheat flour 4 cups bread flour. No egg wash because I think it darkened the bread too much. Backed for 25 minutes PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by FluffySama
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This recipe made a bread that was DELICIOUS. It's somehow dense and light at the same time (I can't explain it, but that's definitely a good thing), and very sweet in addition to the tang I expect from sour dough. It wasn't QUITE as sour as I'd like, but I was using a pretty immature starter... and it was a sweet starter (The "Amish Friendship Bread Starter" from allrecipes). Like another reviewer, I used water instead of milk and did not add any water to the egg wash, just the egg! Because of that first change my rise times took quite a lot longer, almost 3 hours the first time and more than 2 the second; definitely worth it, though. I microwaved water in a pyrex measuring cup until the microwave was good and warm and let them rise in there; perfect! I also sprinkled sesame seeds on top with the egg wash, I couldn't resist! Bet my neighbors will love their loaf for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I've made this recipe twice now, and I'm planning on continuing experimenting with it, and making more tweaks until I get it how I want it. The first time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly, and I ended up having to add water because the dough was WAY too dry, and the resulting loafs were way too dense for my taste...although they were great for making a garlic cheese loaf appetizer. The second time I made this I let the yeast proof for 10 minutes in the warm milk and sugar before adding the rest of the ingredients, and I added the flour one cup at a time. These alterations made for a much better rise, and the loafs were lighter, flufier, and tastier. Next time, I'm going do the same alterations as my 'take 2', and also take the advise of a much longer rise time, as well as the egg white only egg wash...I'm also hoping that my starter is more matured by then too, for a better sour flavor, its only 2 weeks old right now but its getting better every day. I'm hoping to use this recipe, with alterations, for some dinner rolls soon too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States