San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Tried cooking for the first time for my Food Microbiology class. Turned out way better than hoped. I do want to point out that all sourdough could be nicknamed San Francisco sourdough because the bacteria that gives its distinctive taste is called Lactobacillus Sanfranciscensis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Amazing worked perfectly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I have never baked bread before this. It was my first time and it has turned out great every time I make it! I didn't use any egg or onion. I wanted a more plain bread and I love it. I even forgot the sugar once and it was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This does make a really good sourdough bread. The ratio of dry/wet ingredients may need adjusting as I ended up with what looked like biscuit dough at first until I added some warm water to it to make it a bit stickier. If you're not from the West coast you will not get that trademark San Fran flavor but you can make a really tangy sour bread by cultivating your own yeast in a sourdough starter. Do not add dry yeast to a sourdough starter recipe and let it gather it's own wild yeast naturally and it will get sour and tangier much faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This was our first sourdough bread and our first starter. Tastiest bread we ever made...texture was almost perfect. We left out the onions but liked..the eggwash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I pulled out of my oven 2 beautiful loaves of bread - one I braided for a little fun! Delicious and fluffy, this bread did not have a strong sourdough taste, but none of the less disappeared in about 1 hr to my family of 5. After feeding my starter daily for about 1 week, I'd have to recommend the 'Sourdough Starter Recipe' from this website for my fellow newbie bread bakers. Thanks for sharing your recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Just made this (using a two-year old Sourdough Starter II from this site), and my fiance wanted to propose to me again (as he solo-finished the first loaf). Would give it 5 stars, except I did tweak it a tiny bit: used half whole wheat flour and butter and skipped the egg wash and onions. That said, it was an absolutely perfect yeast bread-baking day (hot and humid), and our starter is probably really interesting because we live in a 100 year old house AND we brew beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I quartered the recipe for my first small loaf and it was delicious. I wish I had managed a teensy bit crisper crust. And the inside was almost cake like. Moist and airy. I would like to know how to achieve those big holes and more *peasant* like bread. My starter (Sour Dough Starter # 2) is brand new so not terribly sour but the bread had great flavor. I will keep this recipe and keep trying to improve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I just made this my starter sat for 4 days but I kept it at room temp and fed it every 12 hours it was awesome and so smelled like sd bread once my starter sits for longer it will be even better, this was my first time making sd bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
My daughter and I (she is 12) made this sourdough at Easter and again today. A very easy to make bread with great flavour. We are hoping that the more mature starter we now have will add a deeper sour flavour to the loaf. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States