San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Regarding a previous comment that your location creates different sour flavors doesn't apply. Starters are usually kept in the refridgerator, not at room temperature. Like others comments, this is a good starter for white bread, but this is not true sour dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fdparker2001
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This was my very FIRST home made bread and it was awesome! I had an amateur starter so the "sour" taste was absent (quick and easy starter from this site). However, the bread was moist with a slight crisp on the outside. After it cooled from the oven, I tightly wrapped in foil and used the next day for French toast. Topped with caramelized bananas and walnuts, this breakfast was fit for a queen. I'm hooked on fresh bread now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fdparker2001
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I have never tasted San Francisco bread so can't compare, just chose this recipe as I had an immature starter and wanted to do something with the waste - It turned out gorgeous, absolutely perfect! I used the egg wash and red onion on the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Came out awesome the whole family loved it but I did add some garlic on top mixed with the onions evened it out I think
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stay@Home.Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
When our local bakery closed leaving me with the only option of driving 45 minutes to get my Sourdough Bread fix, I started searching for recipes. I came across this one and wanted to give it a try. So after growing Sourdough Starter for a week I made this bread today... it was a HIT! I had several friends try it and they all loved it. Cudos to the author!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Fantastic! I found I actually like it more using half bread flour and half AP flour. We don't use the onions on top, but that's personal preference. Everyone who has tasted this bread loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Having grown up there, I love San Francisco Sourdough. I've tried every starter there is, and so far yours is the best. It has been suggested to me that in order to produce the flavor of real San Francisco sourdough, I cannot use just any old yeast, I must use the yeasts that are grown native to the SF Bay Area. I will order some SF yeast ($6.95/oz online--OUCH!), and hope that my starter never sours and needs replacement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pamelascakes
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Ok so i made this twice. first time just the same as the recipe and it was great! second time i decided to play a bit....added tsp. kosher salt.. tbs. garlic powder....1 cup shredded chedder cheese..and chopped pepperoni. AWSOME!!!!! I also create a proof box in my oven by warming it on the lowest setting(170degees) then turn it off and add a sauce pot with boiling water. Let it get all steamy and add your dough. Remove pot before baking but the steam that's left will give your bread a super crust!!! Promise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamelascakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I have a very established starter and I added some citric acid (1/8 tsp per cup of flour) to give it a more sour taste. I didn't use as much flour but this is dependent on a lot of factors. You just have to add water until you have the right consistency. This recipe was absolutely wonderful!!! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
We love this bread. I have made it five or six times and gotten great results. It does have a fairly mild sourdough flavor, I think because of the short rising time; I have also gotten milder/stronger results depending on how active my starter was at the time. I want to try omitting the yeast packet and letting it rise overnight for a more "traditional" sourdough, but I haven't yet because it's so good the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States