San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Not enough sour flavor. Mostly because you add a lot more liquid and flour than the starter, so it is basically watering the starter down. It does rise really fast compared to a traditional sourdough bread. Also, for some reaaon my loaf was really crumbly. Not sure if that is me or the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
UPATE: Made this bread again, yesterday, and it flopped! I am not giving up that easy, and will try again... Perhaps my starter, but bread came out like ordinary bread... no sour taste whatsoever and as I read he reviews after the fact, one mentioned that sourdough no milk... makes sense as all the other recipes I have been working with have never called for milk... UPDATE: I have done some research and read many people responses to the bread not being sour enough and it isn't caused by the recipe, it's the starter. I accidently killed my last starter and this one was born on Sept 27. I am confused through, because not only does the starter look fantastic at which point I would use for recipes, it also has a strong, very strong, sourdough smell. Going forward, I will play around with the starter by ensuring the feed is at least 8 hours prior to using and perhaps proofing in the oven for the final rise with some moisture, although this bread actually looked exactly what I'd want in a sourdough. I will update once more when I get it... I will also, perhaps, change my rating to reflect the outcome. I've seen that the people that have made and enjoyed this bread far out way those of those that didn't so perhaps I am not doing something right. Many thanks to all your posts that have given me more knowledge and insight on what I need to be doing... please feel free to post some other ideas you may have that can help. It would definitely be appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barrera Jr.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Very tasty - very good sourdough flavor and smell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
For bread in general, this was good bread. Easy to make with consistent texture, great for sandwiches or French toast. For sourdough, however, it was pretty bad. Very little sour taste; in fact I would not have been able to identify it as sourdough if I hadn't added the starter myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I must say I have a weakness for bread and this one did NOT disappoint! The only thing I done differently was added a tablespoon of lemon juice and 2 tablespoons of dough enhancer. I read on another forum that lemon juice along with dough enhancer helped during the rising process. I baked it in two normal size bread pans Half way through the baking process I had to take the bread out and remove one of my racks because it was so tall. I ended up putting it on the lower rack in the oven and it baked wonderfully. I couldn't really taste the sour dough taste but, I blame that on my starter not being very old. I thought the lemon juice would help the starter create that tangy taste of sour dough but, I couldn't taste the lemon in it at all. However I will use the lemon juice and dough enhancer from now on because I am really impressed with how well it worked. I am going to try it again in a few weeks when my starter matures a little more because I think it will only get better. As for now it still deserves 5 stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Really like this recipe. I just need to let my starter sit longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Thanks "breadguy" I am new at this and am using my son's KitchenAid so your tips are very timely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Used warm water instead of milk, butter instead of margarine, no onions, only egg white with no water for the wash. I sprinkled sea salt onto the wash before placing in the oven. I took the loaf out twice during baking to add more egg wash and spritz the oven with water. Got a really beautiful crust that did not get at all soggy overnight or the following day (laid loaf cut side down on a cutting board, unwrapped). The loaf didn't last longer than that though since it was all eaten! My starter is a couple weeks old but it still had a great flavor. I'm excited to repeat this recipe. ** Edit: the first time I made this recipe I halved it and mixed then kneaded in my standard sized Kitchenaid stand mixer; made one loaf. The second time, I made this with the exact servings for two loaves. There was too much content to appropriately and easily mix and knead in my Kitchenaid. I also made three loaves out of it instead of two. Otherwise it makes a very large artisan loaf. ** Edit 2: I made this dough into rolls and it came out beautifully. 1/2 of the recipe made 8 large rolls. I probably should've tried for 10 smaller rolls instead! I baked them in a greased round cast iron 10-12 minutes @ 400 degrees, no wash. They were wonderful and soft yet slightly browned on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by haochi
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Great recipe and directions, my batch of sourdough small round rolls turned out perfectly the first time. A family favorite immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Great recipe! We used an 80+ year old starter. We did not use any onions...but the loaf and breakfast biscuits we made, were devoured by the grand kids. Thanks for your contribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States