San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Really like this recipe. I just need to let my starter sit longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Thanks "breadguy" I am new at this and am using my son's KitchenAid so your tips are very timely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Used warm water instead of milk, butter instead of margarine, no onions, only egg white with no water for the wash. I sprinkled sea salt onto the wash before placing in the oven. I took the loaf out twice during baking to add more egg wash and spritz the oven with water. Got a really beautiful crust that did not get at all soggy overnight or the following day (laid loaf cut side down on a cutting board, unwrapped). The loaf didn't last longer than that though since it was all eaten! My starter is a couple weeks old but it still had a great flavor. I'm excited to repeat this recipe. ** Edit: the first time I made this recipe I halved it and mixed then kneaded in my standard sized Kitchenaid stand mixer; made one loaf. The second time, I made this with the exact servings for two loaves. There was too much content to appropriately and easily mix and knead in my Kitchenaid. I also made three loaves out of it instead of two. Otherwise it makes a very large artisan loaf. ** Edit 2: I made this dough into rolls and it came out beautifully. 1/2 of the recipe made 8 large rolls. I probably should've tried for 10 smaller rolls instead! I baked them in a greased round cast iron 10-12 minutes @ 400 degrees, no wash. They were wonderful and soft yet slightly browned on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by haochi
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Great recipe and directions, my batch of sourdough small round rolls turned out perfectly the first time. A family favorite immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Great recipe! We used an 80+ year old starter. We did not use any onions...but the loaf and breakfast biscuits we made, were devoured by the grand kids. Thanks for your contribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I've made it a few times a few different ways. I had the best results when using the suggestions of other posters: omit yeast, increase starter to 2c, use water not milk, use just the egg white & skip the onion. I like to let it rise all day & punch it down a couple times to build flavor but it also turns out good when you hurry the rise in a warm oven. The sourness depends on your starter but is definitely stronger the next day. It will also be stronger if you don't use freshly fed starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
While I doubt my bread tastes the same, I really enjoyed making it. I used the leftovers of the beginnings of a sourdough starter I made. Really glad for the extra yeast here, as it cut the time it took to make this bread in half. The taste is phenomenal. I just made one giant loaf and it came out looking like something from a professional bakery! Will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Didn't taste at all like sourdough. Didn't cook all the way through. Was impossibly dense. I tried it and followed the recipe EXACTLY to the letter, only omitting the onions (because onions don't belong on sourdough), and baked it for the prescribed time, plus about 10 minutes because it wasn't baking all the way through. Had to pull it early because it was starting to get too brown on the top (egg wash) and it immediately fell, because of the raw middle. I tasted what I could, trying to determine if even the flavor was there, but it tasted like plain white bread dough. Simply put, I won't be baking with this recipe ever again, and it has possibly turned me off of ever attempting sourdough ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is a great sourdough bread recipe. I will now be the only one I will use. The thing I've found with other recipes is that they are usually good to use as a side with soup or stew, but really not the right texture for sandwiches. This makes great bread for either!!! The starter recipe I used was from this site by Esther and it was only 7 days old when I made my first batch of bread. I followed the instructions exactly in preparing the bread except I used dehydrated onion flakes on the top. I did make a few changes to the way I baked the bread. I put a pan of water on the rack under the bread and I put it in while I preheated the oven to let the oven get nice and steamy. I also scored the top of the bread right before I added the egg wash and onions. I then lightly misted the bread with water before I put it in the oven and then every 10 minutes while it was baking. The result was an amazingly crispy on the outside, soft and tangy on the inside loaf of wonderfulness!!! The first loaf lasted about 3 hours between 3 of us. I just can't say enough good things about this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Vista, Texas, USA
Living In: Cleburne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Never baked sourdough bread before, looks like first attempt is complete bust. Reviewed ingredients & amounts, fairly certain I got those right. In mixing ingredients was using a small whisk, but the dough kept building up on whisk. Could not find anything more appropriate so I went to my 2 hands. Recipe calls for 1 cup flour initially, 3 3/4 cups later. Once I got to 4 cups, the mixture was too dry, wasn't binding to a loaf, so I stopped. Thought about a mixer(too late), but we gave away our big Kitchen Aid and didn't know if our current mixer is big enough. Any ideas? I know, go to the bakery & buy a loaf of sourdough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States