San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I love this recipe, however I use it as a basic blueprint. I only use 1 T sugar, I use a minimum of two cups of Herman starter, knead cooked wheat berries, raw flax, sunflower, and sesame seed. I don't add water to the eggwash. But I replace half of the milk with water. I think this recipe is good in original form, but I love the texture of nuts/seeds. I also sprinkle the very top with all that is inside except wheat berries after putting egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
first time to bake anything and it turned out great! my wife and kids loved it better than store bought. used the starter that was shown here as well. to show how easy this recipe is i am a tradesman who wanted to try and cook my own sourdough.next will make it in those little bread bowls for chili beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dane Rude
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Yes the bread turned out very will. Today I made the doe into cinnamon buns. Even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dane Rude

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I made the recipe today and it was ok, but not like the true SF sourdough bread I've come to know. I think the butter and milk made it too soft and more like a nice crusty sandwich bread. The flavor was good but the crumb was more dense than other SF sourdough recipes i've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Breadguy, I want to thank you for your Kitchen Aid translation. Carpal Tunnel pain makes great home made bread less enjoyable. Love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Good flavor but despite greasing the bowl, I couldn't get it all out in one piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
While my end product doesn't remind San Francisco sour dough bread at all, it's an amazing bread and definitely a keeper. My picky fried told me that it's the best white bread she ever tasted. It reminds me of Russian bulka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy C.
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was good but it tasted more like regular white bread. I made the starter 4 days ago and thought it'd be ready but it wasn't very sour. Any ideas on how to get it more sour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca Agostini
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Turned out great although I won't do the onions next time. I let's the starter sit for a good 2 days. I'm sure the next patch will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Agostini

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States