San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2015
I make this recipe every week it's amazing! I have all my friends addicted to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna Jordan
Photo by Phyllis Anne
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
Absolutely wonderful recipe! I have made this delicious bread several times and shared it with many friends. They all love it as well! I substituted the milk for 1/2 cup of half and half combined with 1/2 cup of water. I found this to produce a lovely texture. Also, cornmeal lightly sprinkled on the bottom of the baking pan adds character. Thank you for sharing your recipe, Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
I'm a newbie to REAL bread making. I've tried a few recipes in my bread machine before with limited success but have NEVER considered making bread the "hard" way. However, I am now a complete convert. I used the very simple Sourdough Starter II, which I let sit for 72 hours. I used all purpose flour because that's what I had, and honestly, didn't expect any of this to work anyway. I also used butter, deleted the egg and onion toppings and used two bread pans to bake the bread. I even decided to knead the dough by hand. OMG!! My hubby and I ate half a loaf in 5 minutes !!! I haven't eaten that much bread at one time since I was a kid! This and the starter are both keepers!! We're on the move a lot, but we were home for the evening so it was no problem to make. I can see this as a staple in our home from now on. It's absolutely scrumptious and has NO ingredients that I can't pronounce. Can't wait to see how it tastes as my starter matures. Thank you for such a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Turned out wonderful! I made a slight modification, I baked the loaves in two 4x8 pans and did not add the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
The recipe was excellent. The loaf browned well with the addition of the pan of water to the oven as well as I sprtized the loaf every 10 minutes. I did use a mixer with a dough hook to mix the ingredients. I made two loaves which came out beautiful. I'll use this recipe again. For those looking for a rustic recipe try KA's Rustic Sourdough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dock

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I love this recipe, however I use it as a basic blueprint. I only use 1 T sugar, I use a minimum of two cups of Herman starter, knead cooked wheat berries, raw flax, sunflower, and sesame seed. I don't add water to the eggwash. But I replace half of the milk with water. I think this recipe is good in original form, but I love the texture of nuts/seeds. I also sprinkle the very top with all that is inside except wheat berries after putting egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
first time to bake anything and it turned out great! my wife and kids loved it better than store bought. used the starter that was shown here as well. to show how easy this recipe is i am a tradesman who wanted to try and cook my own sourdough.next will make it in those little bread bowls for chili beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dane Rude
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Yes the bread turned out very will. Today I made the doe into cinnamon buns. Even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dane Rude

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I made the recipe today and it was ok, but not like the true SF sourdough bread I've come to know. I think the butter and milk made it too soft and more like a nice crusty sandwich bread. The flavor was good but the crumb was more dense than other SF sourdough recipes i've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Breadguy, I want to thank you for your Kitchen Aid translation. Carpal Tunnel pain makes great home made bread less enjoyable. Love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States