San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
While my end product doesn't remind San Francisco sour dough bread at all, it's an amazing bread and definitely a keeper. My picky fried told me that it's the best white bread she ever tasted. It reminds me of Russian bulka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy C.
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was good but it tasted more like regular white bread. I made the starter 4 days ago and thought it'd be ready but it wasn't very sour. Any ideas on how to get it more sour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca Agostini
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Turned out great although I won't do the onions next time. I let's the starter sit for a good 2 days. I'm sure the next patch will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Agostini

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shumail
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Added brown sugar instead of white and also added some honey. Also substituted one cup flour for whole wheat flour. All gone in the blink of an eye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shumail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This recipe was wonderful, I have been trying several recipes, but this is the only one to give me the texture and crust I have been wanting. Only negative is the recipe reads as though it is a double but it did not work to make 2 loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Amboy Heath

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Luv it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanya Gearhart
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Like everybody says, this is a great recipe.I like the crunch I get from a 425 oven so I used water not milk and added 2 tbl whole milk powder to the flour. I also used Saf instant yeast,2 tsp,and a hot Dutch oven. I have severe tendonitis so kneading dough is out of the question. I'd like to pass along to others that may have hand/wrist problems that you can make this bread to perfection without kneading. I also increased the water by 1/2 a cup for this method. Use a stand mixer w/paddle and pour all the wets in there and mix around. Then (honestly) dump 1/2 your dry on top, mix a couple seconds, change to the hook and dump the rest of the dry in there and mix for about 60 seconds. Until combined. Then let that sit for 20 minutes covered.No punching down I knead with the hook. Here & there stop and pull the dough down from the top of the hook, at times I kept the bowl at half mast while running, but the total machine time was about 5 min. Rest in the bowl again 20 min,then knead with hook again for a few more min then take out the dough and just gently stretch (on floured counter) with your fingertips making a thick disk, then hold it up letting the weight do the stretching for you. Grab fat parts, hang, grab,turn..plop on counter fold stretching edges to middle to make a ball then rest 20 min Then do it all again twice & follow recipe here out. Sounds like a lot but when you can't knead...This only adds 20 min to the recipe. No egg wash 'cause of the temp but here it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Gearhart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I have made this 4 times using a friends starter I have managed to keep alive. It makes very good bread. It is soft but not overly airy. The crust is very nice and not too stiff. Did not use the onions. It makes excellent french toast for just those reasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Not enough sour flavor. Mostly because you add a lot more liquid and flour than the starter, so it is basically watering the starter down. It does rise really fast compared to a traditional sourdough bread. Also, for some reaaon my loaf was really crumbly. Not sure if that is me or the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
UPATE: Made this bread again, yesterday, and it flopped! I am not giving up that easy, and will try again... Perhaps my starter, but bread came out like ordinary bread... no sour taste whatsoever and as I read he reviews after the fact, one mentioned that sourdough no milk... makes sense as all the other recipes I have been working with have never called for milk... UPDATE: I have done some research and read many people responses to the bread not being sour enough and it isn't caused by the recipe, it's the starter. I accidently killed my last starter and this one was born on Sept 27. I am confused through, because not only does the starter look fantastic at which point I would use for recipes, it also has a strong, very strong, sourdough smell. Going forward, I will play around with the starter by ensuring the feed is at least 8 hours prior to using and perhaps proofing in the oven for the final rise with some moisture, although this bread actually looked exactly what I'd want in a sourdough. I will update once more when I get it... I will also, perhaps, change my rating to reflect the outcome. I've seen that the people that have made and enjoyed this bread far out way those of those that didn't so perhaps I am not doing something right. Many thanks to all your posts that have given me more knowledge and insight on what I need to be doing... please feel free to post some other ideas you may have that can help. It would definitely be appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barrera Jr.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States