San Francisco Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Turned out wonderful! I made a slight modification, I baked the loaves in two 4x8 pans and did not add the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
The recipe was excellent. The loaf browned well with the addition of the pan of water to the oven as well as I sprtized the loaf every 10 minutes. I did use a mixer with a dough hook to mix the ingredients. I made two loaves which came out beautiful. I'll use this recipe again. For those looking for a rustic recipe try KA's Rustic Sourdough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dock

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I love this recipe, however I use it as a basic blueprint. I only use 1 T sugar, I use a minimum of two cups of Herman starter, knead cooked wheat berries, raw flax, sunflower, and sesame seed. I don't add water to the eggwash. But I replace half of the milk with water. I think this recipe is good in original form, but I love the texture of nuts/seeds. I also sprinkle the very top with all that is inside except wheat berries after putting egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
first time to bake anything and it turned out great! my wife and kids loved it better than store bought. used the starter that was shown here as well. to show how easy this recipe is i am a tradesman who wanted to try and cook my own sourdough.next will make it in those little bread bowls for chili beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dane Rude
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Yes the bread turned out very will. Today I made the doe into cinnamon buns. Even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dane Rude

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I made the recipe today and it was ok, but not like the true SF sourdough bread I've come to know. I think the butter and milk made it too soft and more like a nice crusty sandwich bread. The flavor was good but the crumb was more dense than other SF sourdough recipes i've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Breadguy, I want to thank you for your Kitchen Aid translation. Carpal Tunnel pain makes great home made bread less enjoyable. Love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Good flavor but despite greasing the bowl, I couldn't get it all out in one piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
While my end product doesn't remind San Francisco sour dough bread at all, it's an amazing bread and definitely a keeper. My picky fried told me that it's the best white bread she ever tasted. It reminds me of Russian bulka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco Sourdough Starter

See how to make San Francisco’s famous sourdough bread starter.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States