San Francisco Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I like lots of sauce, so I doubled the ingredients for the glaze. So very yummy. Reminds me a little of New Orleans Bourbon Chicken...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shanzie24
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This recipe was really easy to follow and was super tasty. I followed the advice of other reviewers and reduced the amount of soy sauce and used a little more beef broth. I also sauteed diced onions with the garlic to give it some more flavor. The sauce was delicious! Not too sweet or salty. I used chops that were about an inch thick, and unfortunately 30-35 minutes was far too long on the stove. I would definitely make these agin, but I will reduce the cooking time to about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I was looking for something quick, easy and tasty and FOUND IT! It was great. My 5 year olds ate it, my husband liked it and the sauce was great. I can't wait to try adding the left over sauce to stir fry. (We're not huge saucy people so the original recipe made way more than we could eat). At the last minute I was worried about the saltiness that many of the reviews stated, so I did add 1/2 cup of red wine. The only other thing that was different is that I always use Braggs Liquid Aminos instead of soy sauce when cooking. Otherwise I followed the directions. As the cook notes state, I did not add additional oil to the sauce as I had enough remaining in the pan. Try this, you won't be disappointed. This would be a great meal for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
A little too much of the sauce for my family and myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Absolutely delicious and moist! Made it exactly as written. A definite keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I really enjoyed this, quick and easy to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Beautiful glossy looking sauce (although I only had to use half the cornstarch/water mix), but as so many others have said it's salty. Next time will increase the amount of broth (use low sod) and cut the soy in half. I had lovely inch thick chops which after searing and then covering (even tho I removed after only 10 minutes) were overdone. Would suggest leaving lid off pan and watching carefully. If you sear, 5-7" should be enough. Will def make again after tweaking to our tastes. Other reviewers suggestion of serving over/with egg noodles was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
My family and I really liked this recipe. It was easy to make and tasty. Mine turned out salty and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NPulcini

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
The only thing that I changed in this recipe was that I seasoned the meat with onion and garlic powder, turmeric, Italian herbs, salt and black pepper. I also did not cook 30 minutes nor did I cook 5 minutes per side. I wanted my pork fork tender and it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I rated this a 5 after I made it a couple of times and tweaked the recipe. First we use bone-in thinner chops, "cheap" chops and they came out tough the 1st time, 2nd time we like extra sauce so I doubled the sauce recipe, but it was even saltier than the 1st time. Finally my husband let me try a 3rd time, so this is what I did. Brine your chops! 4 cups of water w/2 Tbls. of table salt and 2 Tbls (packed) brown sugar. Brine for 2 hrs. I use olive oil. Sear the chops 2 1/2 min each side, remove from pan and set aside. Add 2 cloves of minced garlic, and roughly 1/2 cup of minced onion, and saute'. Whisk 1 cup beef broth, 1/4 cup soy sauce, 4 Tbls. brown sugar, 1/2 tsp of crushed red pepper. Return the chops to the pan and simmer, covered 3-5 min on each side. Remove chops again and cover with foil. Thicken the sauce with corn starch. Serve with egg noodles and greenbeans. Try it, you will love it!! I promise! Even my "cheap" chops came out succulent, juicy and tender!! Definitely a keeper for my recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sturnerc22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Spiced Pork Chops

These tasty chops make an easy weeknight dinner with spices you have on hand.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States