San Diego Grilled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Made no changes .....loved it! So citrus-y good. Healthy and very flavorful. I added more red pepper flakes to mine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I'm always on the lookout for easy grilled chicken recipes and this one is just right. Made this tonight for the first time, LOVED it! Served with grilled sweet potatoes and a tossed salad w/Balsamic vinaigrette. The dinner was just perfect for Florida summers, and it WAS better than El Pollo Loco, as another reviewer mentioned. I'll definitely use it for a taco filling with just some cilantro, jalapeño, onion and queso fresco. Yum! Hubby suggested the marinade would make a great reduction, and I agree. And such a versatile jumping-off recipe - it could work well with a little pineapple juice or extra honey to give it an island flair. I halved the recipe for 3 people, omitted the coriander (didn't have any) and used full amount of red pepper for kick. Biggest surprise - we could taste each citrus component. LOVE THIS RECIPE! Call me goofy, but I think it would make superb fish tacos, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I was surprised, but I did like this. I served it with a baked potato. The citrus flavors was a refreshing change for a bbq chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This is so easy. The citris flavor is such an awsome twist. Try it on salads too, i do and it is fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Osider760

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Made this for the Recipe Group: 26, March '11. Loved this citrus flavored chicken. We had it hot the first night, right off the girll and it was very good. I really enjoyed it the next day cold and chopped on a salad. My husband reheated it for dinner and commented that he thought the citrus flavors came through even stronger than the first night. This was marinated for about 10 hours. Not sure what coriander is - but could only find whole coriander. I just broke/smashed it up with the back of a spoon. This will be great to use during the summer months and definitely worth putting in your recipe box. Thanks Osider760 for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
MADE ME MISS SAN DIEGO! BETTER THAN POLO LOCO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Waterloo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Made this for the Recipe Group, what a burst of citrus flavour! I marinated the chicken about 3 hours, and because of the dang cold and snow here, I ended up broiling the chicken instead of BBQ'ing but it still turned out fabulous. The chicken was moist and very flavourful and I loved the hit of the red pepper flakes. I didn't have any oranges but I did have a grapefruit and used one half of it along with the lemon/lime. I will definitely make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Marvel's Kitchen
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Made this for the Recipe Group. Good strong citrus flavor. I left out the honey as I didn't see the need for extra sweet and didn't baste. If I had had some fresh coriander I think that would have been better as the coriander powder didn't seem to add much. I'm always throwing garlic in grilled chicken marinades, so it was good to be restrained by the recipe. It had a nice clean, fresh taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvel's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Westport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Fabulous! This a wonderful marinade for grilled chicken. I loved the idea of using fresh citrus juice! I did add some minced garlic - the equivalent of about one clove just for good measure. I pounded the chicken down thin as instructed and poked it with a fork. I put everything into a ziploc bag and let it go for 8 hours. It smelled great and tasted even better. It's sweet, yet has just a mild kick with nice citrus flavor. Plus the chicken has a beautiful color to it. And, as the submitter suggested I served it with warm tortillas, homemade salsa, guacamole, and warm black beans topped with a dollup of sour cream for a Southwestern flair. What's great about this recipe is you could easily take this and add some cumin and curry (1/4 tsp. each) to the marinade then serve with couscous to give a Middle Eastern flair. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
We really enjoyed this. I marinated my chicken for over 24 hours due to a change in plans so I was a little worried, but it was fine. I didn't baste because I was afraid I had saturated the meat so I cooked the remaining marinade down and drizzled it over the cooked chicken. The balance of flavors was spot on crisp and clean. Thanks for a nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States