San Diego Grilled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This is so far the best marinated grilled chicken I have made! Love all the citrus flavors, so refreshing. Went perfect sliced up on a nice big salad :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
It was very easy and had great flavor (marinaded for 4 hours). Served the chicken with a baked sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I loved grating the zest from all the citrus. Love the bright colors and fresh flavor. Easy marinade that scores big points!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I was surprised, but I did like this. I served it with a baked potato. The citrus flavors was a refreshing change for a bbq chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I'm always on the lookout for easy grilled chicken recipes and this one is just right. Made this tonight for the first time, LOVED it! Served with grilled sweet potatoes and a tossed salad w/Balsamic vinaigrette. The dinner was just perfect for Florida summers, and it WAS better than El Pollo Loco, as another reviewer mentioned. I'll definitely use it for a taco filling with just some cilantro, jalapeño, onion and queso fresco. Yum! Hubby suggested the marinade would make a great reduction, and I agree. And such a versatile jumping-off recipe - it could work well with a little pineapple juice or extra honey to give it an island flair. I halved the recipe for 3 people, omitted the coriander (didn't have any) and used full amount of red pepper for kick. Biggest surprise - we could taste each citrus component. LOVE THIS RECIPE! Call me goofy, but I think it would make superb fish tacos, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This was everything we expected it to be as it was yummiliciously citrusy and quite flavourful. However, this isn't too great to eat on its own (according to me), and would do justice if added to salads, or served on tortillas with salsa. Whilst I'll keep that in mind next time, I think I will also add some chopped cilantro to the marinade....and perhaps allow the chicken to sit in the marinade overnight. Nevertheless, good recipe. :) Thanks Osider760!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by la belle vie
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
by itself this chicken is a little on the bland side. serve it on tortillas with salsa and its the perfect combination of flavors! great recipe and a nice change from tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by la belle vie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I made this recipe a while back for the recipe group. It was good, but the citrus was a bit much for my taste. I used the leftovers in salads, which was better. Hubby really enjoyed it, though. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Made no changes .....loved it! So citrus-y good. Healthy and very flavorful. I added more red pepper flakes to mine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Fabulous! This a wonderful marinade for grilled chicken. I loved the idea of using fresh citrus juice! I did add some minced garlic - the equivalent of about one clove just for good measure. I pounded the chicken down thin as instructed and poked it with a fork. I put everything into a ziploc bag and let it go for 8 hours. It smelled great and tasted even better. It's sweet, yet has just a mild kick with nice citrus flavor. Plus the chicken has a beautiful color to it. And, as the submitter suggested I served it with warm tortillas, homemade salsa, guacamole, and warm black beans topped with a dollup of sour cream for a Southwestern flair. What's great about this recipe is you could easily take this and add some cumin and curry (1/4 tsp. each) to the marinade then serve with couscous to give a Middle Eastern flair. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States