San Diego Grilled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Fabulous! This a wonderful marinade for grilled chicken. I loved the idea of using fresh citrus juice! I did add some minced garlic - the equivalent of about one clove just for good measure. I pounded the chicken down thin as instructed and poked it with a fork. I put everything into a ziploc bag and let it go for 8 hours. It smelled great and tasted even better. It's sweet, yet has just a mild kick with nice citrus flavor. Plus the chicken has a beautiful color to it. And, as the submitter suggested I served it with warm tortillas, homemade salsa, guacamole, and warm black beans topped with a dollup of sour cream for a Southwestern flair. What's great about this recipe is you could easily take this and add some cumin and curry (1/4 tsp. each) to the marinade then serve with couscous to give a Middle Eastern flair. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
The family loved this chicken, and the citrus was a nice twist on chicken fajita's,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Stevenson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I loved grating the zest from all the citrus. Love the bright colors and fresh flavor. Easy marinade that scores big points!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I'm always on the lookout for easy grilled chicken recipes and this one is just right. Made this tonight for the first time, LOVED it! Served with grilled sweet potatoes and a tossed salad w/Balsamic vinaigrette. The dinner was just perfect for Florida summers, and it WAS better than El Pollo Loco, as another reviewer mentioned. I'll definitely use it for a taco filling with just some cilantro, jalapeño, onion and queso fresco. Yum! Hubby suggested the marinade would make a great reduction, and I agree. And such a versatile jumping-off recipe - it could work well with a little pineapple juice or extra honey to give it an island flair. I halved the recipe for 3 people, omitted the coriander (didn't have any) and used full amount of red pepper for kick. Biggest surprise - we could taste each citrus component. LOVE THIS RECIPE! Call me goofy, but I think it would make superb fish tacos, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This was everything we expected it to be as it was yummiliciously citrusy and quite flavourful. However, this isn't too great to eat on its own (according to me), and would do justice if added to salads, or served on tortillas with salsa. Whilst I'll keep that in mind next time, I think I will also add some chopped cilantro to the marinade....and perhaps allow the chicken to sit in the marinade overnight. Nevertheless, good recipe. :) Thanks Osider760!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SMClanton
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
by itself this chicken is a little on the bland side. serve it on tortillas with salsa and its the perfect combination of flavors! great recipe and a nice change from tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMClanton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Photo by Marvel's Kitchen
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Made this for the Recipe Group. Good strong citrus flavor. I left out the honey as I didn't see the need for extra sweet and didn't baste. If I had had some fresh coriander I think that would have been better as the coriander powder didn't seem to add much. I'm always throwing garlic in grilled chicken marinades, so it was good to be restrained by the recipe. It had a nice clean, fresh taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvel's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Westport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I was surprised, but I did like this. I served it with a baked potato. The citrus flavors was a refreshing change for a bbq chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Made no changes .....loved it! So citrus-y good. Healthy and very flavorful. I added more red pepper flakes to mine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Made this for the Recipe Group, what a burst of citrus flavour! I marinated the chicken about 3 hours, and because of the dang cold and snow here, I ended up broiling the chicken instead of BBQ'ing but it still turned out fabulous. The chicken was moist and very flavourful and I loved the hit of the red pepper flakes. I didn't have any oranges but I did have a grapefruit and used one half of it along with the lemon/lime. I will definitely make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States