San Antonio Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2003
Very interesting take on a taco salad. In the past, I've always complained about the chips being on the bottom in a traditional taco salad...this way, they're incorporated in every bite! I followed the recipe as close as I could with the ingredients I had on hand. Only changes: I used black beans and didn't have any jalapenos, so I used hot, hot salsa. Thanks for the recipe, DEFINITELY RECOMMENDED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This was excellent! Hubby is a San Antonio native and he gave his stamp of approval. Changes I made: brown the beef with chopped sweet onion, use shredded lettuce in the bag, rinse the beans thoroughly (and I have subbed other types of beans for the pinto). This is very yummy and customizable. Always a hit. We really like having this on hot days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Fresh ingredients make this a most wonderful dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This was delicious. DH raved about this one. I used ranch style beans and mixed them in with the meat and let it simmer for about ten minutes. I mixed the cilantro with the chopped tomatoes. I didn't mix everything together, we built it on our plates. We did top ours with sour cream. This was perfect for using up all those broken tortilla chips near the bottom of the bag too! Very good for a fairly quick meal. Thanks Debra, we really enjoyed this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
Wonderful Taco Salad. I like not having to use a salad dressing or if you want, a little ranch or italian can be tossed at the last minute. Will fix this often this summer for a cool dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Wonderful recipe!! Made it for a salad potluck at chuch - it was all gone!! I left out the jalapeno - was an older group - but would use it and hot salsa for my family. Made everything the night before and mixed it just before we ate, was perfect!! Will make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leetonia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
This was wonderful. Made it last night. I didn't have cilantro or green onions but it was good without them. Had some left over, just reheated and my hisband said it was better than last nights. The lettuce was a little wilted but it didn't matter. Thanks Debra, your recipe is a winner in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I love this salad! Have made many times! Thanks for the post! The only change I make is to layer the ingredients instead of mixing all together. I love the addition of chips in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
We don't like cumin or chili powder (we're just wimps) so we used taco seasoning for the meat. Other than that, didn't change a thing. It was really good and it was nice to have it all put together, not seperate taking up too many dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and it produced a really yummy salad meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States