San Antonio Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2003
Very interesting take on a taco salad. In the past, I've always complained about the chips being on the bottom in a traditional taco salad...this way, they're incorporated in every bite! I followed the recipe as close as I could with the ingredients I had on hand. Only changes: I used black beans and didn't have any jalapenos, so I used hot, hot salsa. Thanks for the recipe, DEFINITELY RECOMMENDED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
Wonderful Taco Salad. I like not having to use a salad dressing or if you want, a little ranch or italian can be tossed at the last minute. Will fix this often this summer for a cool dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
This was wonderful. Made it last night. I didn't have cilantro or green onions but it was good without them. Had some left over, just reheated and my hisband said it was better than last nights. The lettuce was a little wilted but it didn't matter. Thanks Debra, your recipe is a winner in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This was excellent! Hubby is a San Antonio native and he gave his stamp of approval. Changes I made: brown the beef with chopped sweet onion, use shredded lettuce in the bag, rinse the beans thoroughly (and I have subbed other types of beans for the pinto). This is very yummy and customizable. Always a hit. We really like having this on hot days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Wonderful recipe!! Made it for a salad potluck at chuch - it was all gone!! I left out the jalapeno - was an older group - but would use it and hot salsa for my family. Made everything the night before and mixed it just before we ate, was perfect!! Will make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leetonia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and it produced a really yummy salad meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Fresh ingredients make this a most wonderful dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
We don't like cumin or chili powder (we're just wimps) so we used taco seasoning for the meat. Other than that, didn't change a thing. It was really good and it was nice to have it all put together, not seperate taking up too many dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
i saw this and wanted to try it. I have to saw it was great. I changed a few things i used black beans with jalapenos in them that i mixed with some frozen corn. I also used taco seasoning for the beef instead of the other seasonings. The kids loved it so i will be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States