San Antonio Chicken Roll Ups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
we absolutely loved this.. loosely followed the measurements.. mozz for the jack cheese.. didn't pound the chicken.. just cut a slit and stuffed.. secured with toothpicks and baked in the oven like Rae.. ours took closer to 45 mins.. bf didn't know this was supposed to be grilled and mentioned once we were finished that he would love to see how this would turn out on the grill for that smokey component.. ty so much for this simple yet awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Yummy !!! Next time I will part cook bacon so it is a little crispier, I also baked in oven after reading other reviews. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
These were great. I did bake these and I used only cream cheese to stuff the peppers. My oldest son loved them and said this was a keeper. I really enjoyed them, but feel a finishing sauce is needed. I will make these again, but I will come up with a sauce to add to the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I also baked these and they are incredible. I did use chicken thighs and cream cheese in the peppers instead and tastes delicious. The flavors just all blend so well. I did kick it up a notch on the seasonings with a sprinkle of cayenne pepper and some italian herbs. WILL MAKE AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
These just did not work for me. My cheese seemed to just disappear and the chicken was so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
These are really good. To make it easier I use sticks of string cheese instead of the monteray jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Made this tonight for my husband and some guests. I had never made this before but knew that I would love it. I was surprise that EVERYONE loved this. As a matter of fact, my husband said it was the best "Chicken Cordon Bleu" I had ever made. Basically, made it the same as was directed with some modifications. Instead of stuffing it with Pepper Jack cheese, I stuffed it with "Queso Fresco" because it melts without oozing out while cooking. But in order to incorporate the Pepper Jack's robust flavor, I made a sauce that I spooned over the chicken and broccoli. My husband said it is a keeper and asked if he could take same for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
My entire family loved this dinner! My husband said it was AWSOME! I made ranch dip to go with it. The only thing that kept me from giving the meal five stars was that I could not determine a way to keep the cheese inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Maker of Dinner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I tried a version of these tonite and they were awesome. My brother in law made them. He took a bite size piece of chicken and placed a jalapeño slice on top and placed a piece of pepper jack cheese on top of that and then wrapped it all in bacon and then put into the grill. They were awesome. Will be making them myself and also trying by rolling up the chicken too. Great 5 star recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Great Pie Maker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I give it four stars my husband really liked it and my son loved everything but the cheese. It was a bit salty with the turkey bacon to me and I don't really like salt. So next time I will skip the bacon for me and add more jalapeno. (I didn't use as much as the recipe said to and I should had.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by de'Monfort

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States