Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
This really is the best carrot cake in the world. I changed 3 things: reg. milk + 1 teaspooon lemon juice in place of buttermilk as I was out of it. 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg was added and also I covered my raisins with orange juice and brought them to a boil, letting them simmer for a couple of minutes. Took them off the heat and let cool. Drained them and added when prompted by recipe. Baked in 3 (9") Cushionaire pans for 25 to 28 minutes. Frosted with 16 oz. cream cheese, 1 stick butter, 1 teaspoon each of almond and vanilla extracts and 32 oz. powdered sugar sifted. I had a carrot cake fan taste this and he said it was the best he's ever eaten. It is! Thank you Brian for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
My daughter and I tried 5 different carrot cake recipes to find one suitably delicious for a wedding cake and settled on this one. Even though this site says that the 'Best Carrot Cake Ever' is the best, this recipe won out over it as we had a family and friends "taste-off" before we made our final selection. It by far had the most flavor. Not too moist, not too crumbly. At the reception, person after person raved over the cake and asked for the recipe. We had very little left. Just enough so that we could enjoy some the next day. We did make a few minor changes. We omitted the coconut, walnuts and raisins. And increased the carrots to 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Bravo,this is a wonderful recipie...I took a hint from a Gourmet magazine recipie and added grated rind of a lemon. In addition, I made the cream cheese icing with grated lemon rind and lemon juice..this cut the sweetness of the cake and gave it a glorious citrus flavour!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1094 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Modestly, I must rate this the best carrot cake ever since Sam was my grandfather. I wanted to post a public message thanking all those who have reviewed this recipe and gave it such high marks. I hope you all continue to enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
635 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I made this carrot cake because it had everything (coconut, walnuts, pineapple, and raisins) plus buttermilk. The only change I made was to put it into two round cake pans. If you do this reduce the cooking time by 15 minutes. I topped the cake with "whipped cream cream cheese frosting" from this site which is a great cream cheese frosting because it is not too sweet and went great with this cake. I will make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
422 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
This is AMAZING! So Moist and filling and the flavour even develops more beatifully over the days. I First made this for mothers day and my mother claims this IS the BEST carrot cake ever tasted. Family has requested it again and again and also makes a lovely morning tea snack as it is quite an enormous cake to get through! Only thing I did first time was omit the raisins (personal preference) and divide mixture into 3 pans for a 3 layer cake used with "cream cheese frosting II" from this site. Second time around I halved the ingredients and still made a wonderful 2 layer cake. My only suggestion is to use your food processor throughout various stages to cut down on time and convenience which then makes this quite a quick cake to prepare. This is definately going to become a "secret" family heirloom for me as well. Thank you Brian for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
330 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This cake is FANTASTIC!! Omitted the raisins, baked it in a 13X9 pan for 45 minutes, and topped it off with a thick layer of cream cheese frosting. This is the only carrot cake recipe I'll use from now on. My husband's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
I chose this recipe because the fat content was lower than some of the other carrot cake recipes. I reduced the oil to 1/4 C., split the flour to 1 cup white, 1 cup whole wheat, used 3 cups carrots, 3/4 cup coconut, 3/4 cup half walnuts, half pecans and left out the raisins(don't like them). This reduced the fat even more, and it was an incredible cake! Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hmstarr
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Oh my goodness !!!! This was the ultimate best carrot cake I have ever had...and my guests agreed. As others recommended, I used Cream Cheese Frosting II. It was equally delicious. I used two 9 inch cake pans. The cook time was approx. 45 minutes at recommended temperature. I sprinkled cake with crushed & whole pecans. This was a very tasty & attractive way to serve the cake. It really dressed it up. Will continue to make this cake over & over again. However, next time I would like to try a more healthy version utilizing apple sauce verses vegetable oil. I'll let you know how it turns out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
We were having a taste off of Carrot cakes and so far this seems to be the winner. Pat's Award Winning is coming in a close second. Cream cheese frosting is a better compliment to this cake because it is not as sweet as Pat's. I think this is going to be my wedding cake. It is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States