Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by DinaLaChef
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Carrot cake is our favorite dessert, and this is one of the best we've ever had. I cut the recipe to 8 servings to make a smaller two layer cake with these changes: subbed 1 tablespoon applesauce for 1 tablespoon vegetable oil, cut sugar to 1/2 cup and added 1 tablespoon and a half of honey, and subbed 2% milk with 1 teaspoon of fresh lemon juice for buttermilk. I baked them in two 8x5 inch pans at 350 for thirty minutes and another fifteen minutes at 300. They turned out perfectly, brown on the edges and moist inside. I used the Creamcheese Frosting II recipe from here, also cut it to 8 servings. This let me put a thin frosting layer between the loaves, and frost the top and sides thoroughly. It came out sweet and delicious, and I could see it didn't need that extra sugar or even a full frosting layer between the loaves. My fiancée, who doesn't have a sweet tooth, had two portions in one night! My only critique is that it's so good, I'll eat it all if we don't give some away! This recipe is a keeper and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinaLaChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Ok this cake was good. And for that I give it this rating. I have to agree with a previous review, however. There does seem to be too much going on in this cake. I was looking forward to that sweet and rich carrot flavor but instead had an overwhelming amount of other flavors. As I said though, the cake WAS good. Just not a great choice for a traditional carrot cake craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This was VERY good!!! Easy to make and delicious. My own personal preference: not a big fan of raisins. I would cut them down/out next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Amazing carrot cake. I'm a professional pastry chef, I was looking for a carrot cake recipe I could quickly make for my family at home (and doesn't serve 50!) and this hit the spot. Came together very quickly, I made 2 changes, just based on my family's taste preferences. I only used a shy 1/2 cup of coconut (we're not huge coconut fans) and I also used about a 1/2 cup raisins, which I covered with hot water, a generous TB of butter and microwaved for 3 min. To soften and add moisture to them. Fantastic. Baked in a 9x13 pan, so it was like a sheet cake, added a simple cream cheese icing to top, perfection. Thank you for sharing the recipe with us, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Hartmann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Wow, this came out absolutely perfect. Made it on Sunday gone one Monday. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlton Andrews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This is one of the best cakes I've EVER had. I'm not typically a fan of carrot cake, but this cake is so moist and full of texture and great flavors. Amazing with cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Very good and moist but found I will cut back on the amount of raisins for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
It's really is the best easy recipe.. I love it.. Also, recommend you guys a fantastic website HomeGadgetsDaily.Com , they have cool gadgets for kitchen ))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Fantastic! I must go along with the trend of 5 Stars. I almost decided to try a different recipe after reading a few negative reviews but glad I tried it. Did not have buttermilk on hand use 5 ounce plain Greek yogurt and 5 ounces water, also did not have coconut but great without it. I splint into 3 small aluminum loaf pans and baked for 30 min on 350. I love cinnamon so I may add more the next time TASTE GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This turned out really great! This was my first time making carrot cake. I read some of the suggestions and here is what i changed: I did not use all white sugar. Wanting to make this a bit healthier i used Truvia (organic sugar substitute) and half dark brown sugar. I also preheated the oven to more than 350 ( i think i set it to 400). I also did not use all white flour but used half whole wheat. Instead of raisins I used cranberries and this added a great kick to the flavor of the cake. Even with these changes the cake was amazing. It cooked in about 45 minutes and came out fluffy. I used the Cream Cheese II frosting on this website. Was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,781) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States