Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I have made dozens of this recipe. Only change is to increase cinnamon by 1 tsp and make ahead and freeze layers. Wow, what a difference. An amazing recipe. Thanks Mr. Sam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Totally awesome. moist, rich, flavourful. Even though the ingredients blended beautifully, we could taste the individual flavours. No hesitation giving this a five star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Will not try this again..I put 1/2 cup instead of 1c of coconut, pecans, pineapple raisins and put 3. C of carrots instead of two. Thus balancing out the missing halves of those extras. Irregardless , the cake , like bread pudding , wet inside. Did not have cake texture whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
very nice made it in two round tins instead and no nut, but going to get fat eating this its so nice have frozen it now see how it goes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
The cake was full of flavor, it didn't last long at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Husband loved this and my BIL said it was the best he ever had. I did take the advice of other reviewers and made a few changes. I used 1 cup of lactaid milk(lactose intolerant) and 1 teaspoon of lemon instead of the butter milk, added 1/8 teaspoon of nutmeg and boiled the raisins in orange juice. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Try it .... and it was just Amazing....thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Omg!! Delicious, moist, & very flavorful!! Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I have baked this cake ten times (I found it before it was on allrecipes) and it is the best carrot cake ever. The only thing I do differently is use pure vanilla, but I use pure vanilla in everything I bake. I just wish it had a cream cheese frosting recipe to go with it. I get some many compliments on this recipe, try it, it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
As a carrot cake lover, after reading most of the reviews, I decided to try this recipe. Unfortunately, this was not a successful endeavor for me. I had enough batter to make a bundt cake AND six cupcakes. Even after baking the cake for over 2 hours, it still wasn't fully done inside! I conceded and determined that most of my efforts were made in vain. The outside was a beautiful, albeit deep golden brown, but the inside, although flavorful, was still too wet and somewhat gooey. The cupcakes baked for over 30 minutes - the outside was nicely browned, but the inside was slightly mushy. The telltale sign was that prior to baking, the batter was very loose, apparently from too much liquid, however, I followed the recipe exactly, so I really don't know where I went wrong. Fortunately, the cream cheese icing I made was delicious. My DH, (bless his heart!) acknowledged my efforts and complimented the flavors, but I knew better - I need to find a different carrot cake recipe on 'ar.com'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,642) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States