Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Delicious cake. I made it just like the recipe said except using pecans instead of walnuts because I didn't have them. I don't think I would change anything about it, really. Great recipe! I topped it with "whipped cream cheese frosting", which was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I followed the changes in the reviews. Every time I make it I am complimented. Thank you for an awesome recipe and for sharing it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
A+ !! Made into cupcakes and took to Easter dinner party. Big hit. The pineapple and coconut gave it moisture with just enough sweetness. Toughest part was shredding those carrots! Frosted with cream cheese frosting....mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
great cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I am ashamed to say my partner and I ate this whole cake in less than a week. It's perfect. As others suggested, we used the "Cream Cheese Icing II" recipe on this site to frost two rounds, but we could've used a tad more icing in the middle. Moist and dense. Drained the pineapple and the carrots, and plumped the raisins in their discarded juice. I also added cinnamon, nutmeg, and a touch of cardamon because we like spice. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daddy Rhon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This is a delicious carrot cake recipe. I substituted 3/4 cup mashed, canned great northern beans ( with some of the bean juice) for the oil and everyone was amazed!! No one will ever guess and I love the idea of the extra nutrition instead of all the oil! You can use any color of beans that are similar to the color of the cake. This substitution will work in lots of other recipes too. Use black beans for brownies etc. Helps to have a lot of different flavors going on like in this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This carrot cake is sooooo good!! I didn't change anything. I used the cream cheese frosting recipe from this site and it made the cake even yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This is an amazing recipe. I've made 4 dozen muffins (this recipe makes 2 dozen at a time). They are irresistible and my family and company couldn't leave them alone. No icing needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
My changes - I omitted raisins b/c yuk, and used 3/4 cup of coconut b/c that's all I had. My husband said this was the best carrot cake he's ever had, and he LOVES carrot cake. I made this as his birthday cake. I put it in a round 12" pan, and baked for a bit over an hour. I made a butter cream frosting with a half block (4oz) of cream cheese, seasoned with salt, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg. YUM! The cake cooked perfectly - ZERO complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carress

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,644) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States