Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Fantastic! My daughter wanted to make a carrot cake- I didn't think it would tempt me, as I've never cared for carrot cake before; but this is not just any carrot cake. First, it baked up light and fluffy, not wet and brick-like. Second, the smell when it was baking was phenomenal- like gingerbread and the best dumpcake had a baby. I followed the recipe to the letter, and everything, from ingredients to amounts to cooking time, was spot on. Like others, I topped it with Cream Cheese Frosting II, (from this site) which is richer and less cloyingly sweet than most. It complimented the cake perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Great Carrot Cake. I made exactly as recipe stated except I omitted the raisins and realized at the last minute I did not have the pineapple, so I substituted 8 ounces of applesauce and 1 shredded granny smith apple, which worked out wonderful. I am not a carrot cake fan, but I did eat one small piece and it was really good. My husband and teen daughter (our carrot cake fans in the house) ate this non stop. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
We loved this carrot cake. I've made many carrot cakes over the years and all have their attributes. I like the fact that this cake isn't overly sweet, don't get me wrong, I like sweet desserts. But carrot cakes (topped with cream cheese frosting) can be overly sweet to the point of being sickening...not so with this recipe. It takes some time to do all of the chopping, peeling and preparation...but it's well worth it. Topped with Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
So wonderfully good. I made a minor substitution and prep adjustment: I put the coconut, pineapple, and raisins in a blender and added a banana and about 1/3 cup of mini chocolate chips and blended. Because of the banana, the oil could be cut to 1/4 cup. I kept everything else the same. It really came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by haya
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
i like this recipe, my husband loved it. but i discovered that im not that fan of carrot cakes and this one is so heavy for my taste. you can eat it for breakfast with coffee and feel full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan Hollingsworth Pfeifer
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I made this recipe (multiplied by ten!) for a wedding cake yesterday but omitted the nuts, raisins, and coconut since the bride and groom don't like them. I also doubled the cinnamon and added nutmeg and ginger. This was the best carrot cake I've ever made! Everyone at the wedding came to me raving about it! Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
To me this was more of a fruit cake with way too much going on. I wasted so much on this to turn out like a dense, wet, crunchy, fruit cake was just disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2bake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This is the best carrot cake! I chang out half the canola oil for coconut oil and also add a 1/4 cup of chia seeds (for extra healthy cake). I agree with those others who add lemon juice and lemon rind to their cream cheese frosting. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Made this and my husband loves it. He's had many carrot cakes, since carrot cake is his favorite and he said this is the best he's had. I now make this every year for his birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I was looking for a perfect carrot cake recipe, and came across this one... It seemed pretty simple and straight to the point, so I gave it a try, and I am so glad I did!!! This carrot cake is SO Delicious!!! I followed the recipe as showed, not changing or omitting anything and WOW!!! All I have to say is that, whenever my family or friends have a party or event, they ask me to make this carrot cake... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States