Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I have made this cake several times and it comes out perfectly every time! (I make the recipe as is)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I substituted unsweetened applesauce for 1/2 of the oil, reduced the total amount of sugar and used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar. I increased the cinnamon to 3 tsp, added cloves and nutmeg. My family are not fans of frosting, so I used the buttermilk glaze also available on this site under 'Grandma's Carrot Cake'. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Only change I made was 1/2 tsp salt instead of 1/4. Baked in three 8"pans and frosted with the Cream Cheese Frosting from the Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting recipe. This is now MY CARROT CAKE RECIPE. Thanks Sam :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Excellent! Omitted coconut added an extra cup of carrots. Baked in 2 layer pans for 40 min. Used icing: 4 c. Powdered sugar, 1 stick butter, 8 oz cream cheese, 2 tsp vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
My husband Loves Carrot Cake and I have tried many many recipies. This one is by far his favorite! It is super moist and the flavor is out of this world!!! I have made it twice and today I plan on making it again for my husbands Birthday! Great Job Sam!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Deltona, Florida, USA
Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This definitely up there with one of the best tasting carrot cakes I have ever had --- I consider myself an avid baker but never have attempted a carrot cake before. My disappointment came with making it into cupcakes --- they stuck to the paper!!! The taste was awesome, but they were a lot of work to get into! My advice ... just use the recipe for a cake. Also, I made the Cream Cheese frosting II from this site and about halfway through the frosting process, the frosting lost its consistency. I'm still in search of the perfect cream cheese frosting for this cake. I made it basically as written but did make a few of the suggested changes (less oil, added applesauce, put in some brown sugar, added more vanilla, added allspice and nutmeg (next time, I will add more allspice and nutmeg), and upped the carrots to 3 cups).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerri Buiting

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Excellent cake. Very acid-reflux-friendly (no icing, of course), not too sweet, and very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
One word: wow. I followed the recipe as is and it came out perfect. I wouldn't change anything about it. The cake was not over powered by sweetness and was just the right consistency in moistness and texture. For the frosting I used the "whipped cream cream cheese frosting" by Tom. My husband and coworkers loved it and ate it all up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Our family and friends ADORED this cake! Carrot cake was requested by my son for his birthday party last night. It was light, flakey, and moist with wonderful flavor and pleasing appearance. I omitted the raisins as some of my family and friends at the party don't care for them, used pecans (that's all I had on hand, and my family LOVES them), and substituted 1/4 cup of the oil with unsweetened applesauce. As others suggested, I also made sure to pack the carrots (grated by the larger holes in my grater.) I divided the batter between 3 round cake pans 9 1/2" in diameter with dark non-stick coating and baked them for 30 minutes at 350 degrees then tested with toothpicks in center. They were perfect. This recipe makes enough for 3 ample layers that were just the right thickness. I frosted it with Cream Cheese Frosting II on this site as others suggested. I used 1 1/2 recipes of the frosting as I wanted to make sure I had plenty for decorative piping and had maybe a cup leftover which I stored in the freezer for later use. I'm thinking if we ever had any of this cake left over, or if I made 2 of them, it would probably keep well frosted in the freezer for a while. Didn't have time to bake it a day ahead as other posters mentioned, but I can't wait to taste it today! Thanks soooo much Sam & Brian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This is the best recipe ever. My sons love it so much. It is easy to make and is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States