Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
As a carrot cake lover, after reading most of the reviews, I decided to try this recipe. Unfortunately, this was not a successful endeavor for me. I had enough batter to make a bundt cake AND six cupcakes. Even after baking the cake for over 2 hours, it still wasn't fully done inside! I conceded and determined that most of my efforts were made in vain. The outside was a beautiful, albeit deep golden brown, but the inside, although flavorful, was still too wet and somewhat gooey. The cupcakes baked for over 30 minutes - the outside was nicely browned, but the inside was slightly mushy. The telltale sign was that prior to baking, the batter was very loose, apparently from too much liquid, however, I followed the recipe exactly, so I really don't know where I went wrong. Fortunately, the cream cheese icing I made was delicious. My DH, (bless his heart!) acknowledged my efforts and complimented the flavors, but I knew better - I need to find a different carrot cake recipe on 'ar.com'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcalbert
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I made this this using 2 9" round pans and added cream cheese icing. Other then that I didn't change the recipe at all. It was a huge hit! It is so easy to make! You have to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmktanner
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This cake is amazing! I only did 2 things different. I omit coconut because my family doesn't like it & I substituted applesauce instead of the oil. We used a cream cheese icing recipe from this site. I added a teaspoon of heavy whipping cream to lighten that up (density definitely not calories, lol)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I followed this recipe with only a few minor changes: I didn't have the pan it called for, only a 13x9 which I followed the advice of other reviewers and baked the cake for 45 minutes. I also subbed the oil for 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce and 1/4 cup oil. I couldn't find crushed pineapple so I blended some pineapple tidbits until it looked like crushed pineapple. I omitted raisins because I didn't like them. I am rating this five stars because it was the first cake I baked from scratch and it was the best carrot cake I ever tasted in my life. I made it for Valentine's Day and my boyfriend loved it! I will definitely keep this recipe forever. It was moist and delicious. Made with Cream Cheese Frosting II!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This cake is delicious! Very moist and flavorful. I used 1/2 cup of cinnamon applesauce instead of the oil so it was a little bit healthier. I also grated the carrots in my Ninja food processor. Baked it in 2 round 9" pans and frosted it with my special homemade cream cheese frosting (recipe on my page). It came out as a super yummy carrot cake, possibly one of the best I have ever tasted (and made!) Thanks for sharing the recipe, Brian, and may Grandpa Sam and his famous carrot cake recipe live on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I have made this cake many times exactly as the recipe is. It is the best carrot cake ever!I always make it a day or two before I need it so the flavors can meld. Thank you Sam for sharing!! I would give it a 10 if I could!!! Diana, I think you may have made the carrots too fine. I just shredded my carrots on a regular hand held grater.Since your cake lacked texture I wonder if it was mixed too long...I stirred by hand just until moistened.hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crystalbynature
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I followed the recipe the first time, but the second time I added a cup of carrots 1 tsp ginger and 1 tsp nutmeg. I would then give it 5 stars...very moist with good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is THE BEST carrot cake recipe I have ever tasted. I omit the raisins because my kids don't like them but either way is fine, just a preference. At first I thought it was strange putting pineapple in the recipe but I went with it and WOW....AMAZING! I get rave reviews every time I make this cake. The only carrot cake recipe I will ever need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Delicious! Substituted pecans for walnuts since that's all I had in my kitchen. Very moist....definitely will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
The best carrot cake I ever had:)) thank you for this recipe.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,703) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States