Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I call this my "Kitchen Sink Carrot Cake" because it has everything but the kitchen sink in it! I have made it several times along with a simple vanilla buttercream icing and have had rave reviews each time. My family tradition is to make a bunny cake at Easter each year and this one was certainly a hit. Sometimes if I want to add an extra layer of richness I'll throw in some chocolate chips, but it really is delicious just as is. I plan to make this for my daughter's first birthday to go along with the Peter Rabbit theme. If you like carrot cake, you will love this one! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Carrot cake is my favorite cake. This cake is by far the best. I use 2 packages of cream cheese, 2 cups of powder sugar, 3/4 cup of butter, half a tablespoon of vanilla extract and half a tablespoon of almond extract for the cream cheese frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Made a small square cake and cooked for about 45 minutes which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Fantastic! My daughter wanted to make a carrot cake- I didn't think it would tempt me, as I've never cared for carrot cake before; but this is not just any carrot cake. First, it baked up light and fluffy, not wet and brick-like. Second, the smell when it was baking was phenomenal- like gingerbread and the best dumpcake had a baby. I followed the recipe to the letter, and everything, from ingredients to amounts to cooking time, was spot on. Like others, I topped it with Cream Cheese Frosting II, (from this site) which is richer and less cloyingly sweet than most. It complimented the cake perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Great Carrot Cake. I made exactly as recipe stated except I omitted the raisins and realized at the last minute I did not have the pineapple, so I substituted 8 ounces of applesauce and 1 shredded granny smith apple, which worked out wonderful. I am not a carrot cake fan, but I did eat one small piece and it was really good. My husband and teen daughter (our carrot cake fans in the house) ate this non stop. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
We loved this carrot cake. I've made many carrot cakes over the years and all have their attributes. I like the fact that this cake isn't overly sweet, don't get me wrong, I like sweet desserts. But carrot cakes (topped with cream cheese frosting) can be overly sweet to the point of being sickening...not so with this recipe. It takes some time to do all of the chopping, peeling and preparation...but it's well worth it. Topped with Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
So wonderfully good. I made a minor substitution and prep adjustment: I put the coconut, pineapple, and raisins in a blender and added a banana and about 1/3 cup of mini chocolate chips and blended. Because of the banana, the oil could be cut to 1/4 cup. I kept everything else the same. It really came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by haya
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
i like this recipe, my husband loved it. but i discovered that im not that fan of carrot cakes and this one is so heavy for my taste. you can eat it for breakfast with coffee and feel full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan Hollingsworth Pfeifer
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I made this recipe (multiplied by ten!) for a wedding cake yesterday but omitted the nuts, raisins, and coconut since the bride and groom don't like them. I also doubled the cinnamon and added nutmeg and ginger. This was the best carrot cake I've ever made! Everyone at the wedding came to me raving about it! Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
To me this was more of a fruit cake with way too much going on. I wasted so much on this to turn out like a dense, wet, crunchy, fruit cake was just disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2bake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,782) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States