Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
everyone loved it followed it to the t.... soooo perfect.. thank you Sam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loretto

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Reseda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This recipe is fantastic!! I used 3 cups of shredded carrots, some fresh grated nutmeg, a pinch of ginger powder, and some lemon zest. I omitted the raisins because I'm not a fan. Thanks so much for a great recipe. I also made a cream cheese frosting using a recipe from this site. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I didn't change a thing, and thought the cake turned out great. It was my first ever carrot cake from scratch, and I found it to be surprisingly easy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Hands down best carrot cake I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Absolutely perfect! I've made this many times, exactly as instructed. Well, except I make it in two circular pans and frost layers with a cream cheese frosting. It's our family favourite! Just plain excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Best carrot cake recipe I've found! Super moist and delightful with cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I must try this again , as the first time I made it I wanted to make more so I tripled the ingredients and somewhere along the line it ended being a complete flop ! i was so disappointed as I wasted so much. I will try it again but only to follow it exactly. I don't mind bits and pieces of nuts and such. I see that most of the folks that made this cake did good by it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bowenmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
It was perfect!Based on other reviews I added 2 cups powdered confectioners sugar, 1/4 tsp nutmeg (could have added more maybe 1/2, 3 tsp cinnamon and 3 tsp vanilla. I'm not too fond of raisins so reduced them to 1/2 cup and soaked them in orange juice for 1/2 hour before adding. I used pecans instead of walnuts. Overall, just the carrot cake I wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
My family LOVES carrot cake. I made this cake for Christmas dinner and we finished it in 2 days, we were so sad it was gone, that we made another one! One of my aunts who always makes a carrot cake for Thanksgiving got a phone call from another aunt that she needed to get my recipe (that aunt likes to make trouble though!) The only thing I did different from the recipe was omit the nuts, my dad hates them. With or without them though, this is the best darn carrot cake I've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Heavenly! I made two changes to this recipe. I substituted an equal amount of Splenda for the sugar to make the recipe more diabetic-friendly. And since there were so many other high-carbohydrate ingredients included, I made the recipe into 24 cupcakes which limited the serving size. But oh, these were so good it was hard to have just one! I baked the cupcakes for 20-25 minutes, testing with a toothpick to check for doneness. As a diabetic, I very seldom make desserts of any kind. But this is certainly one recipe I'll make again. With the changes I described, each cupcake serving will be about 191 calories and have 18 grams carbohydrate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocean Shores, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,644) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States