Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Megan Hollingsworth Pfeifer
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I made this recipe (multiplied by ten!) for a wedding cake yesterday but omitted the nuts, raisins, and coconut since the bride and groom don't like them. I also doubled the cinnamon and added nutmeg and ginger. This was the best carrot cake I've ever made! Everyone at the wedding came to me raving about it! Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Why do people say best recipe ever on reveiws and change the whole thing?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
To me this was more of a fruit cake. Like others previously commented, way too much going on. I wasted so much on this to turn out like a dense, wet, crunchy, fruit cake was just disappointing. If you are looking for something light, moist, and sweet move along this is definitely not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2bake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This is the best carrot cake! I chang out half the canola oil for coconut oil and also add a 1/4 cup of chia seeds (for extra healthy cake). I agree with those others who add lemon juice and lemon rind to their cream cheese frosting. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Made this and my husband loves it. He's had many carrot cakes, since carrot cake is his favorite and he said this is the best he's had. I now make this every year for his birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I was looking for a perfect carrot cake recipe, and came across this one... It seemed pretty simple and straight to the point, so I gave it a try, and I am so glad I did!!! This carrot cake is SO Delicious!!! I followed the recipe as showed, not changing or omitting anything and WOW!!! All I have to say is that, whenever my family or friends have a party or event, they ask me to make this carrot cake... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I have made this cake several times with white frosting and it is a favorite with everyone young and old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
the best!!!! didn't add raisins or walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I have made a few different versions of carrot cake, but this, combined with the cream cheese icing II on this website, is simply to-die-for. I used pecans instead of walnuts and added a pinch of cloves and about about 1/8 tsp. of nutmeg to make is spicier. Otherwise followed the recipe and it is fantastic. This will become my only carrot cake recipe! Thanks so much for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
The BEST recipe! Thanks for sharing your grandfather's recipe, Brian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States