Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This recipe is very similar to mine, except my cake has 2 cups sugar, and 1 cup drained crushed pineapple, and no raisins (although raisins sound like a good addition). My recipe has the following glaze that is poured over the cake when it comes out of the oven: Combine the following ingredients in a 3 or 4 qt. pot -- 1 cup sugar, 1/2 tsp. baking soda, 1/2 cup buttermilk, 1 cube butter, and 1 tsp. white corn syrup. Bring this mixture to a boil, stirring constantly. Reduce heat and boil for 5 minutes. Keep stirring. Remove from heat and stir in 1 tsp. vanilla. Pour over hot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
ive been making this particular carrot cake now for yrs..by combining 2 of my fav. recipes and making them into one it truly gives you the ultimate carrot cake.. its no wonder your grandfather received such rave reviews. its a shame i have to limit myself to making it just once a yr.. (Easter). otherwise id be eating it for breakfast lunch and dinner. lol..Happy Easter Everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Mine was cooked perfectly at 45 mins! Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
My husbands favorite is carrot cake, so I am always looking for a great one to try. He loved the fruit bits and it was really moist. The only thing I changed was omitting the walnuts.(He doesn't like those in his carrot cake) I think next time I might use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil only because it's healthier. I always try to make the recipes the same the first go round before I change anything. I'd make it again. I used the cream cheese frosting recipe from the Awesome Carrot Cake with cream cheese frosting found on Allrecipes. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Excellent carrot cake. The only modification that I did was to add fresh grated coconut. I live in the Caribbean and dislike store bought coconut flakes. Instead I went outside and got 2 coconuts and grated them and cooked it down with 1/2 cup of water and 1/2 cup sugar for about 15 minutes. I added 1/4 tsp groung nutmeg and 1/8 tsp ground cloves. This cake was moist and very delicious. I took it to work and even collegues that do not like carrot cake gave it a thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I have made dozens of this recipe. Only change is to increase cinnamon by 1 tsp and make ahead and freeze layers. Wow, what a difference. An amazing recipe. Thanks Mr. Sam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Totally awesome. moist, rich, flavourful. Even though the ingredients blended beautifully, we could taste the individual flavours. No hesitation giving this a five star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Will not try this again..I put 1/2 cup instead of 1c of coconut, pecans, pineapple raisins and put 3. C of carrots instead of two. Thus balancing out the missing halves of those extras. Irregardless , the cake , like bread pudding , wet inside. Did not have cake texture whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
very nice made it in two round tins instead and no nut, but going to get fat eating this its so nice have frozen it now see how it goes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
The cake was full of flavor, it didn't last long at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States