Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
This recipe is spectacular as written as judged by myself and the many people for whom I have made it. No changes are needed. Whenever I cook with raisins, however, even if I simply add them to oatmeal, I always soak them in water to rehydrate them. So an optional change for this wonderful recipe is to soak your raisins for a minimum of an hour. I am thinking of soaking the raisins in brandy next time for a different twist. Another optional change is to grate the rind of one lemon into the sugar mixture for a hint of citrus flavor in this cake. I use this recipe to make a triple layer cake with 8" round pans and bake them at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. I make cream cheese icing to complement the cake. In my humble opinion, any bad reviews of this cake were either because the reviewers made mistakes or do not understand what a real carrot cake is. Sam hit the nail on the head with this recipe, and I am thankful it has been shared with all of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I always add a touch of extra cinnamon as I am a cinnamonster, but this cake is wicked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I have made this cake twice now. It is my one son's favorite cake. Will be making many more times for my family and friends, very rich so they won't get it to many times a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
My first carrot cake baking experience - and this is the best carrot cake I have ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
This cake is fabulous. As many have said before, it's a wonderful carrot cake. It was my first attempt at carrot cake and my whole family loved it. I omitted the raisins and walnuts but would have followed the recipe exactly had I not been making Mother's Day dessert for a crowd. I didn't have buttermilk so I made my own with milk and vinegar. I also baked it in a 9x13 pan for 50 minutes. I will definitely make it again. I topped it with a delicious maple cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I made this carrot cake 2 years ago for my mother. Everyone loved it! It was delicious and moist. I'm about to go make it again for her for Mother's Day :) can't wait to eat it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I tried this cake and we loved it but next time I will have a few modification based on my family's request as: 1) half a cup raisin instead of one cup 2)half a cup walnut instead of one cup almond. 3)one cup sugar instead of 1.5 cupz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandra
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This is pure carrot cake bliss! I do mine as a layer cake (2 round tins), and use a creamcheese buttercream frosting that holds its shape better than a drippy creamcheese icing. I make them the night before, cool them, wrap them airtight and keep in the fridge. The next day the moisture is evenly distrubuted and it's nice and cold for the frosting to go on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Literally the best carrot cake recipe ever! Nothing is better! Made the recipe exactly how it said and it was so moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Absolutely wonderful. This carrot cake is moist and delicious. I had some pretty picky eaters that absolutely loved it! I did half the white sugar with brown sugar and added nutmeg. Also used canola instead of vegetable oil. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa Watson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,775) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States