Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This was AMAZING! I was worried that the all the different add-ins would give too many flavors, but it was PERFECT! The pineapple especially made it moist and chewy even after being in the fridge all night. It looked awful when it came out of the oven, I thought it was overbaked, but I guess that's just the outer layer cause the rest is sooooooo so so so good. I will make this forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susannah S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrington Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by natzsm
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I have baked this at least a couple of times. Frosted, unfrosted, round cake, square cake, 9 X 13 cake, cupcake. We have eaten it freshly baked, and frozen some and ate them after a couple of weeks. It was always delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natzsm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Makati, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This cake is awesome!I almost followed recipe, only boiled the raisins in OJ as suggested by others and it was delicious!! Thanks for the recipe Brian.Used cream cheese frosting II very delicious,not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kisskiss06172
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I loved this cake. Made it for Easter I also made some cream cheese frosting. Cake came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This recipe was so good! With just a few minor changes (added 1/2 cup of brown sugar and a dash of nutmeg) this recipe has become one of my favorites to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Wonderful carrot cake. Extremely moist and flavorful. I followed this exactly as written, except due to preference I left out the nuts. Topped it with Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site, and it was perfect. Thanks Brian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Plainfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Milaca, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
35 minute bake time when using 2 9" round cake pans and it was more than done!! I omitted the coconut (daughter doesn't like) and added a total of 3 cups of minced carrot. Although the cake is delicious as made, for those who prefer a bit less of a textured cake you might want to skip the walnuts and/or raisins. Also, I never add more than 1/4 cup of oil to any recipe, this recipe called for 3/4 cup (yuck)...I subbed 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce and it was divine! Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site was perfect on this cake. Moister as of day #2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This is a great recipe! The only thing missing is a little extra spice...maybe a little more cinnamon or some nutmeg. But overall it is very good and moist and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I made this carrot cake for Easter. Believe the reviews. It is divine! Checked cake about 40 minutes in because I thought 1 hour at the same temperature might dry it out. Lowered over to 325. It turned out perfectly. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as it is and it was by far the best carrot cake anyone in my family has ever had! I also used the Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting from this site and that made it even better! I will be using this recipe for years to come...Thanks Sam!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,593) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States