Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
This was a perfect recipe!! I didn't have buttermilk, but a teaspoon of lemon juice and milk did the trick! It's moist, tasty, and overall delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hannagirl
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I made this first for my sisters birthday and I send in mail across the northeast packed in sarang wrap. She got it in perfect condition and it was super moist and super tasty! I made it few times in between and Again today for work. My friend at work who's an carrot cake lover said it was amazing too! I simmered my raisins in Orange juice and discarded the juice just like one of the reviews. I think that totally took the cakes's texture to a different level! You cannot go wrong with this recipe. I didn't use the walnuts however cause I don't like nuts in my cake but I'm sure it'll be just as amazing with any nuts. I also added 1:3 ratio of nutmeg:cinnamon, instead of 2 tsps of only cinnamon ( cause the hubby is a nutmeg fan!) This is the best carrot cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Made this last night it is tasty, but not carrot cake. I have a simple recipe for carrot pineapple muffins and it tastes exactly like that but without the trip to the store for the buttermilk i will never use. Also made the whipped cream cheese frosting which is not piping consistancy. Overall my kids think it's yummy, but just not what i thought to taste like true carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Town Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
This cake was amazing! ermergerd... I loved it so much. :3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Made this for a boy's birthday party and all kids raved about it. I followed the recipe as written, excluding the "extras," i.e., coconut, walnuts, pineapple and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made this recipe for my family and one for one of the teacher birthday at school. Everyone was in love with the cake they all gave this recipe five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Delicious! I use whole milk with a tablespoon or vinegar instead of the buttermilk and omit the raisins only because I don't like them. It is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovenmygirls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Made as written but omitted the raisins. (Fam doesn't like them). My issue is that my cake was done at 40 minutes. I used a 9x13 pan. Initially, the cake was dry but after refrigerating overnight I did become moist. Flavor is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Use a 9 X 13 pan, over flowed the 8 X 12
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,677) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States