Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This is an amazing recipe. I've made 4 dozen muffins (this recipe makes 2 dozen at a time). They are irresistible and my family and company couldn't leave them alone. No icing needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
My changes - I omitted raisins b/c yuk, and used 3/4 cup of coconut b/c that's all I had. My husband said this was the best carrot cake he's ever had, and he LOVES carrot cake. I made this as his birthday cake. I put it in a round 12" pan, and baked for a bit over an hour. I made a butter cream frosting with a half block (4oz) of cream cheese, seasoned with salt, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg. YUM! The cake cooked perfectly - ZERO complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carress

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
We consider ourselves carrot cake freaks. We are always looking for a new place to try the carrot cake but nothing, anywhere has come close to this. Hands down this is the best carrot cake we've ever tasted (and we've had a lot). I made it as noted with the cream cheese icing as recommended by others and it was a perfect match. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. It truly is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I found this cake to be lacking in flavour. It's ok but not my favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I made this cake for my brother's wedding. In the process of making his wedding cake I made 4 different varieties for the bride and groom to try and this was the favourite by a long shot. The cake was moist and flavourful. All the wedding guests loved the cake and there was none left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Best ever!!! So moist and tasty I used a cream cheese icing recipe from this site and added 1/4 teaspoon of lemon extracting and I still would but just a drop the citrus was a nice addition to a rich cake. Thanks for an awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Amazing! This was a favorite at the Easter dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! Frosted with Cream cheese frosting II. Family loved it! New Easter tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This is AMAZING! I made my first carrot cake following this recipe for Easter dinner and my family LOVED it!! it was so moist and delicious! My husband is a HUGE carrot cake fan and I was worried about making this for the first time! Not anymore! Tip - if you make the 9" round cakes wait for the cakes to completely cool before icing. I didn't do this on my dry run and the layers slid right off of each other and made a mess. my boys ate it anyhow though and said it was great! Gotta love those boys! Thank you Brian for the wonderful recipe that I will enjoy making over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was pretty good. It was very moist! It ended up being very bland though. I swear I could taste the flour and baking soda. I did by the way, add more spices than it called for too (I added almost a whole Tbs of Pumpkin Pie spice in addition to the other spices) I was glad I did, it might have been inedible if I hadn't. I made it with the Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site (I made it with 1/2 ts. of vanilla extract and 1/2 ts. of orange extract instead of one ts. of vanilla, soooooo good!) and it really helped the flavor. But my husband and I both liked it a lot despite and will make it again- just with even more spices. Thanks for the recipe Sam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States