Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I brought this to a party and people said it was the best carrot cake they ever had. I didn't have buttermilk, so I substituted almond mild with a little lemon juice. This is the kind of cake that you can't stop eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
i cant say enough about this recipe...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This cake is AMAZING! I always get great compliments. Follow the recipe exactly and you will not be disappointed. I have ommited the raisens or nuts a time or two due to dietary restrictions of those I have made it for and it turns out great no matter what. I even make it in one bowl instead of the three suggested and it comes out the same just follow the directions for the wet ingredients first, then the dry, followed by the chunky bits. Oh and I use golden raisens instead of regular as they are less overwhelming. Great cake. I will never use another carrot cake recipe this is the ONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Brilliant, works perfectly for me. The basic contents are great and in correct proportion. I've made 2 alterations to the recipe as many reviews mention this: 1) Our oven is quite hot so I lower the heat a bit to prevent the top from bursting 2) I cut back on sugar (use 1 cup) and use raw/ cane sugar as we found it quite sweet the first time. But I guess this may depend on taste and the kind of canned pineapple you use. I've baked it several times and varied ingredients, I use plain skimmed milk and sunflower oil, but cocunut oil worked well too. I usually use more carrot than the recipe mentions, add a little lemon zest and go heavily on cinnamon, or mix with llittle nutmeg and allspice. Another great addition is some poppyseed! Gives you some extra crunchiness in the moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Ok well I don't know where I went wrong but my cake didn't rise. IT was more of a dense rye bread than a cake and I was very disappointed with it. I noticed there is no baking powder...did anyone else have the same problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
OMG...I cannot believe that I have not reviewed this recipe yet (although my review is obviously not necessary since everyone agrees -- YUM YUM YUM). I have made it 3 times in the past month, if that's any indication. I replace some of the oil with natural applesauce (last batch: 1/4 c. oil and 1/2 c. applesauce, although next batch I'll be brave and try all applesauce) and there is no loss of moisture...just fat & calories. I also sometimes replace some of the white sugar with brown sugar (not sure if I can tell a difference). My family does not like raisins, so those are omitted. I use the Cream Cheese II frosting recipe from this site (with low fat cream cheese/Neufchatel)-- so so so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This is the best Carrot cake recipe I have ever found!! Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
amazing! I made it into cupcakes with cream cheese icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I made this recipe into cupcakes for my Mum's 80th birthday celebration and everyone LOVED them. The flavour was great and they were so moist. I made the recipe as written and baked the cupcakes for 30 minutes at 350, then frosted them with Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site. There are many carrot cake lovers in my family and they all commented over and over again how good this recipe is. It really is the best. Thank you, Brian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This was spectacular! I made this cake for a wedding, and paired it with the brown butter bourbon cream cheese frosting. The only changes I made were to add 1/4 tsp nutmeg as another reviewer recommended, and I soaked the raisins over night in brandy. This was phenomenal, and there was only enough cake left for the bride and groom's anniversary cake. Thank you for sharing this! I well keep this recipe close at hand, and it will be made often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,632) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States