Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Try it .... and it was just Amazing....thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Omg!! Delicious, moist, & very flavorful!! Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I have baked this cake ten times (I found it before it was on allrecipes) and it is the best carrot cake ever. The only thing I do differently is use pure vanilla, but I use pure vanilla in everything I bake. I just wish it had a cream cheese frosting recipe to go with it. I get some many compliments on this recipe, try it, it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
As a carrot cake lover, after reading most of the reviews, I decided to try this recipe. Unfortunately, this was not a successful endeavor for me. I had enough batter to make a bundt cake AND six cupcakes. Even after baking the cake for over 2 hours, it still wasn't fully done inside! I conceded and determined that most of my efforts were made in vain. The outside was a beautiful, albeit deep golden brown, but the inside, although flavorful, was still too wet and somewhat gooey. The cupcakes baked for over 30 minutes - the outside was nicely browned, but the inside was slightly mushy. The telltale sign was that prior to baking, the batter was very loose, apparently from too much liquid, however, I followed the recipe exactly, so I really don't know where I went wrong. Fortunately, the cream cheese icing I made was delicious. My DH, (bless his heart!) acknowledged my efforts and complimented the flavors, but I knew better - I need to find a different carrot cake recipe on 'ar.com'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcalbert
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I made this this using 2 9" round pans and added cream cheese icing. Other then that I didn't change the recipe at all. It was a huge hit! It is so easy to make! You have to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmktanner
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This cake is amazing! I only did 2 things different. I omit coconut because my family doesn't like it & I substituted applesauce instead of the oil. We used a cream cheese icing recipe from this site. I added a teaspoon of heavy whipping cream to lighten that up (density definitely not calories, lol)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I followed this recipe with only a few minor changes: I didn't have the pan it called for, only a 13x9 which I followed the advice of other reviewers and baked the cake for 45 minutes. I also subbed the oil for 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce and 1/4 cup oil. I couldn't find crushed pineapple so I blended some pineapple tidbits until it looked like crushed pineapple. I omitted raisins because I didn't like them. I am rating this five stars because it was the first cake I baked from scratch and it was the best carrot cake I ever tasted in my life. I made it for Valentine's Day and my boyfriend loved it! I will definitely keep this recipe forever. It was moist and delicious. Made with Cream Cheese Frosting II!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This cake is delicious! Very moist and flavorful. I used 1/2 cup of cinnamon applesauce instead of the oil so it was a little bit healthier. I also grated the carrots in my Ninja food processor. Baked it in 2 round 9" pans and frosted it with my special homemade cream cheese frosting (recipe on my page). It came out as a super yummy carrot cake, possibly one of the best I have ever tasted (and made!) Thanks for sharing the recipe, Brian, and may Grandpa Sam and his famous carrot cake recipe live on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I have made this cake many times exactly as the recipe is. It is the best carrot cake ever!I always make it a day or two before I need it so the flavors can meld. Thank you Sam for sharing!! I would give it a 10 if I could!!! Diana, I think you may have made the carrots too fine. I just shredded my carrots on a regular hand held grater.Since your cake lacked texture I wonder if it was mixed too long...I stirred by hand just until moistened.hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crystalbynature
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I followed the recipe the first time, but the second time I added a cup of carrots 1 tsp ginger and 1 tsp nutmeg. I would then give it 5 stars...very moist with good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States