Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Amazing! This was a favorite at the Easter dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! Frosted with Cream cheese frosting II. Family loved it! New Easter tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This is AMAZING! I made my first carrot cake following this recipe for Easter dinner and my family LOVED it!! it was so moist and delicious! My husband is a HUGE carrot cake fan and I was worried about making this for the first time! Not anymore! Tip - if you make the 9" round cakes wait for the cakes to completely cool before icing. I didn't do this on my dry run and the layers slid right off of each other and made a mess. my boys ate it anyhow though and said it was great! Gotta love those boys! Thank you Brian for the wonderful recipe that I will enjoy making over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was pretty good. It was very moist! It ended up being very bland though. I swear I could taste the flour and baking soda. I did by the way, add more spices than it called for too (I added almost a whole Tbs of Pumpkin Pie spice in addition to the other spices) I was glad I did, it might have been inedible if I hadn't. I made it with the Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site (I made it with 1/2 ts. of vanilla extract and 1/2 ts. of orange extract instead of one ts. of vanilla, soooooo good!) and it really helped the flavor. But my husband and I both liked it a lot despite and will make it again- just with even more spices. Thanks for the recipe Sam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Did not turn out :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
thanks. I tried the recipe. the cake taste nice, love it. but it will be nicer if reduce the sugar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
YUM! My mom asked me to make carrot cake for her Bday. I wanted to make a completely from scratch cake similar to my grandmother's recipe and finally decided upon this one because of it's similarity to hers. While I thought this was VERY good, I do think I'll cut back on the carrots, fruit and nuts next time. I will also sub chopped pecans for walnuts (since I was making this to share, I went with the traditional walnut but actually prefer the taste of pecans). I really wanted to taste the cake itself, but there was just too much going on with each mouthful. Cutting the carrots, coconut and nuts by half and the raisins to a quarter cup would be much more to my liking. As I did this time, I'll continue to add 1/2 t ground nutmeg and 1/4 t ground cloves (I felt this needed a little more than just cinnamon). Since I do not own the pan size called for, I baked this in a 9 x 13 in. baking dish and reduced the total baking time to 45 minutes which worked great for me. All in all, this was quite tasty, especially when frosted with cream cheese frosting and sprinkled with toasted coconut! Too bad my carrot cake-hating husband missed out.... My parents and I thought this was the BOMB. :) Thanks for sharing your granddaddy's famous recipe, Brian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This was AMAZING! I was worried that the all the different add-ins would give too many flavors, but it was PERFECT! The pineapple especially made it moist and chewy even after being in the fridge all night. It looked awful when it came out of the oven, I thought it was overbaked, but I guess that's just the outer layer cause the rest is sooooooo so so so good. I will make this forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susannah Schaff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrington Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by natzsm
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I have baked this at least a couple of times. Frosted, unfrosted, round cake, square cake, 9 X 13 cake, cupcake. We have eaten it freshly baked, and frozen some and ate them after a couple of weeks. It was always delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natzsm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Makati, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This cake is awesome!I almost followed recipe, only boiled the raisins in OJ as suggested by others and it was delicious!! Thanks for the recipe Brian.Used cream cheese frosting II very delicious,not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States