Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Been making this cake for a while till I perfected it. I normally half the sugar but everything else remains. Thanks Sam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I have spoiled everyone with this Carrot Cake... It is the best. I put in 3 cups of carrots .... Great Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Best Carrot Cake Ever. My family absolutely loved it. I made two modifications, instead of pineapple, I added two ripe bananas. And instead of all purpose flour, I added gluten free flour. And it still came out delicious. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
My husband said it was a good fruit cake. I didn't enjoy the texture or the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
I love this recipe!!!!!!!!! I made it for Thanksgiving everyone loved it. I tried another recipe later even my husband said this isn't the same. Will never use another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Shaw Perry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
Best carrot cake! However, I do think that all of the, "stuff" (walnuts, raisins, carrots, coconut, and pineapple needs to be ground up in a food processor. It was too chunky, especially the chopped walnuts, but the flavor was so good I still give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne Gillette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zainub Khan
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
carrot cake has always been my favourite and now this recipe is my favourite of the favourites! turned out moist, rose very well and wasnt at all flat. held together just right and didnt crumble. after reading other reviews i used the cream cheese frosting II recipe but with less sugar for a more cream cheese taste. husband was abbbbsolutely bowled over by the well put tkgether flavours of coconut carrot walnut raisin and pineapple. and the cinnamo was just amazing. folowed the recipe down to a T Except i replaced half a cup of flour with whole meal flour. have used brown in the past for other carrot cakes so couldnt make this one without. turned out absolutely fine. as it would have with all white flour. like others on here i split the cake into 2 tins and then when baked and cool, levelled the top of one and sandwiched together with frosting. gonna be my go to recipe for carrot cake ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
This recipe is spectacular as written as judged by myself and the many people for whom I have made it. No changes are needed. Whenever I cook with raisins, however, even if I simply add them to oatmeal, I always soak them in water to rehydrate them. So an optional change for this wonderful recipe is to soak your raisins for a minimum of an hour. I am thinking of soaking the raisins in brandy next time for a different twist. Another optional change is to grate the rind of one lemon into the sugar mixture for a hint of citrus flavor in this cake. I use this recipe to make a triple layer cake with 8" round pans and bake them at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. I make cream cheese icing to complement the cake. In my humble opinion, any bad reviews of this cake were either because the reviewers made mistakes or do not understand what a real carrot cake is. Sam hit the nail on the head with this recipe, and I am thankful it has been shared with all of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I always add a touch of extra cinnamon as I am a cinnamonster, but this cake is wicked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I have made this cake twice now. It is my one son's favorite cake. Will be making many more times for my family and friends, very rich so they won't get it to many times a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,782) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States