Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Best carrot cake in the world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Plumped the raisins by boiling in OJ before adding as several reviews suggested. Husband would prefer without raisins, but I liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aileen
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Soft, moist carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Wonderfully moist! This is just the best carrot cake ever. The only changes I made were to the buttermilk and the raisins. I used golden delicious raisins. I love them. Also, I used milk and lemon juice in place of the buttermilk. I may have gone a little overboard on measuring the nuts, coconut, and raisins. I ended up with extra cake that would not fit in the pans. So I had enough to 1/2 fill a bread pan. When a friend unexpectedly stopped over, I had a little gift to give her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Shaw Ardman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I have made this cake several times. I LOVE this cake! I make it exactly according to the recipe, except I omit the raisins (I'm not a fan of raisins). It couldn't be more perfect. Thanks for sharing this great cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I am baking this following the recipe EXACTLY.. I loathe 'cooks' that make 27 changes to a recipe just so they can get their 'expert' opinion into a comment. If you already KNOW how to make the recipe then why look on here!?!? Put your own 'perfect recipe' on here, stop making changes to others! Now that being said, I am a 'cooker' (my 10 yrs old says) Not a baker, so Idid these as cupcakes as a trial run.. they taste good to us! I confess I used a can of cream cheese frosting! (Im not THAT good at baking!) Very nice! Now if only I knew how to do the little carrot design on top! Thanks for the clear directions..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie Oakley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Thank you so much for posting it & for the reviews. I made this for my mother's birthday today, and everyone loved it! I used the suggestions too; 1tbsp lemon juice added to 3/4 cup of milk (instead of buttermilk), added 1/2tsp ground ginger & 1/2tsp nutmeg (in addition to the 2Tbsp of cinnamon) and increased grated carrot by 1/2 cup. Cooked for 35 minutes in two 9" round cake pans @ 350'. Test at 30 minutes with a cake tester! This is a hearty & very moist carrot cake, full of flavour!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
It turned out very moist and so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Made this for Easter and oh my was I surprised how amazing this was! Everyone loved it! Will certainly be making again. Hands down best carrot cake I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Caron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
this was fantastic- one of those "everything but the kitchen sink" recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joelleberanek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lemont, Illinois, USA
Living In: Homer Glen, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States