Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
My healthy boyfriend of 7 months has repeatedly told me that carrot cake is his favorite dessert. He complains about the ones he's eaten a few times in restaurants with me. So imagine my stress when I made and served him this as his birthday cake. His connoisseur's opinion: "This is the best carrot cake I've eaten in my entire life! It's so moist!" He's not one for exaggeration, so I'm thinking this recipe made me a rock star! I made it in 2 layers, precisely equal quantities of batter, 350 for 37 minutes total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SmilingFoodLove
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Carrot cake is our favorite dessert, and this is one of the best we've ever had. I cut the recipe to 8 servings to make a smaller two layer cake with these changes: subbed 1 tablespoon applesauce for 1 tablespoon vegetable oil, cut sugar to 1/2 cup and added 1 tablespoon and a half of honey, and subbed 2% milk with 1 teaspoon of fresh lemon juice for buttermilk. I baked them in two 8x5 inch pans at 350 for thirty minutes and another fifteen minutes at 300. They turned out perfectly, brown on the edges and moist inside. I used the Creamcheese Frosting II recipe from here, also cut it to 8 servings. This let me put a thin frosting layer between the loaves, and frost the top and sides thoroughly. It came out sweet and delicious, and I could see it didn't need that extra sugar or even a full frosting layer between the loaves. My fiancée, who doesn't have a sweet tooth, had two portions in one night! My only critique is that it's so good, I'll eat it all if we don't give some away! This recipe is a keeper and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmilingFoodLove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Ok this cake was good. And for that I give it this rating. I have to agree with a previous review, however. There does seem to be too much going on in this cake. I was looking forward to that sweet and rich carrot flavor but instead had an overwhelming amount of other flavors. As I said though, the cake WAS good. Just not a great choice for a traditional carrot cake craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This was VERY good!!! Easy to make and delicious. My own personal preference: not a big fan of raisins. I would cut them down/out next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Amazing carrot cake. I'm a professional pastry chef, I was looking for a carrot cake recipe I could quickly make for my family at home (and doesn't serve 50!) and this hit the spot. Came together very quickly, I made 2 changes, just based on my family's taste preferences. I only used a shy 1/2 cup of coconut (we're not huge coconut fans) and I also used about a 1/2 cup raisins, which I covered with hot water, a generous TB of butter and microwaved for 3 min. To soften and add moisture to them. Fantastic. Baked in a 9x13 pan, so it was like a sheet cake, added a simple cream cheese icing to top, perfection. Thank you for sharing the recipe with us, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Hartmann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Wow, this came out absolutely perfect. Made it on Sunday gone one Monday. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlton Andrews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This is one of the best cakes I've EVER had. I'm not typically a fan of carrot cake, but this cake is so moist and full of texture and great flavors. Amazing with cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Very good and moist but found I will cut back on the amount of raisins for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
It's really is the best easy recipe.. I love it.. Also, recommend you guys a fantastic website HomeGadgetsDaily.Com , they have cool gadgets for kitchen ))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Fantastic! I must go along with the trend of 5 Stars. I almost decided to try a different recipe after reading a few negative reviews but glad I tried it. Did not have buttermilk on hand use 5 ounce plain Greek yogurt and 5 ounces water, also did not have coconut but great without it. I splint into 3 small aluminum loaf pans and baked for 30 min on 350. I love cinnamon so I may add more the next time TASTE GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,713) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States