Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I did use less oil: 1/2 cup and less sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This was a wonderful recipe! I didn't have raisins, so I substituted dried cranberries and was very glad I did. My husband couldn't stop eating it and made me swear to use the cranberries when I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Have tried many carrot cake recipes. This one is the best! Love all of the fruits/veggies/ nuts added. Only thing I change is I add a lil nutmeg. Have made as 2 layer& 3 layer cakes and as cupcakes. I love the cupcakes. Bake at 350 for 20 min and test with toothpick for doneness. I frost with either cinnamon cream cheese frosting or white chocolate cream cheese frosting. I also top frosting with toasted coconut. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWeber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I have tried many different carrot cake recipe and this one trumps them all!! Thank You for sharing! I have a deep 9X13 cake pan and I used 1 1/2 of recipe and it turned out perfect!! Absolutely the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made this for the first time today. I've never made carrot cake before and WOW! It was a big hit. I honestly didn't change a thing. I've never made carrot cake until today and this is now my favorite. It was gone within an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This cake is fantastic - that's all there is too it. It's my favorite cake, my family's favorite cake, my coworker's...and everyone requests it for EVERY holiday/get together. It's very most, bakes beautifully through (no hard edges). The only changes that I made were to add an extra cup of shredded carrots and omit the raisins (personal preference). The extra cup of carrots seems to make the cake even more moist. When I make this I usually bake it in 2 9" round pans for a double-layer cake. Otherwise, a lot of times I will make cupcakes and bake for 25-35 minutes. The time varies so much, so just use your baking eye to tell when they are done. I then use the Cream Cheese II recipe that everyone else seems to use and sometimes top with either candied walnuts, toasted coconut, or even candied ginger. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Cabaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I've made this cake for my family several times and it has become the family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duchesne, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Wow! I am not much of a baker and this is the only carrot cake I have ever made from scratch and it is AMAZING! It was very simple to make. I left out the raisins per everyone's reviews and also the coconut because I'm not a fan. I made sure to grade the carrots so they wouldn't be too stringy. It was super moist and delicious. Everyone in my family loved it including my 3 year old daughter who is a super picky eater. I made two 9in cakes and it took less cooking time, 35 minutes or so, just check with a toothpick. Thanks for a GREAT recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made this cake along with another cream cheese icing recipe from allrecipes.com. This cake had a wonderful flavor and texture! It was bakery-worthy for sure! The only thing I did differently was that I bought shredded badged carrots and then put them in the food processor to chop them up (I didn't want shreds of carrots in the cake and I didn't want them puréed either). It was a big hit. I baked it as a double-layer round with icing in the middle too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Wow, very good...made as directed except for excluding the coconut (personal preference.) Took advice of another baker and increased the carrot to 3 cups when omitting the coconut. I'm sure it would be fine with 2 cups as well. I used a 13 x 9 glass pan and baked at 350 for 45 min, very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,632) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States