Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
everyone loves it. hopefully you have a delicious frosting recipe . YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Ive made this more than 10 times now and it dominates every time. Thank you for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Holy Moly! I was talking on the phone while mixing up the ingredients and I COMPLETELY FORGOT TO ADD THE OIL!!! BUT! It' tasted good anyhow! Boom! I'm sure next time I make it I won't so this is definitely the best carrot cake I've ever made. Thanks, Sam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This is one of the best Carrot Cake I have made and eaten. I subsituted currants for raisins. I have had many compliments on it. For the cream cheese frosting, I used Orange Flavor in place of Vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Anyone who has tasted this recipe says it is the best they have ever tasted!!! Five Star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
What do you do when you have left over vanilla ice cream sitting in your fridge?? I took up this recepie and read through all of the reviews and there was nothing that was stopping me from making it, and the end result, the sweet aroma of the ingredients blended together in a perfect harmony pulled in more people into my kitchen to get a taste of this amazing cake and what do you know!!! It tasted like heaven!! of course I sprinkled powdered cinnamon and sugar on top of the warm cake and served it with a dollop of ice cream... It's finger licking good!! Thanks for sharing the recipe and for all the reviews. I'm making more of this for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This has become a favorite in our house; my husband requests this cake every year for his birthday. I make this into cupcakes and bake for 20 minutes at 350. Not everyone in my family likes coconut and raisins so I make a few cupcakes without those two items and then add them in before making the rest and it makes everyone happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This cake is simply awesome! Super moist and flavor packed.I used2 9 inch round pans and it turned out great.Everyone raved and that's what you want,right? Try this cake,you will not be dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
After reading the reviews, I was excited to try this out for the fam. They all liked it however, it was not what I was expecting. It's definitely not your "average" carrot cake. It tasted more like a holiday fruit cake and it was very moist/sticky. I followed the directions to the T. I thought the pineapples were to keep the cake moist but didn't think I'd still taste much of it after baked. With all that said, it is still yummy. Just less like a traditional carrot cake which is what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I made this recipe years ago from a little old Italian lady I worked with named Maria Cassais. I lost the recipe, and tried today to replicate it from an old Alabama Junior League cookbook, and when it came out of the oven, I was so disappointed. So I checked and found Sam's Carrot Cake, which is the closest I can come to Maria's recipe. I mixed it up quickly, and left it in the oven the entire hour, afraid it would fall flat if I didn't. I just took it out, and it is GORGEOOUS. Texture perfect, Color perfect, Everything awesome. Im afraid to frost it, its so awesome looking. Cant wait to cut it and discover the taste. I used a foil 9 x 13 pan,(as it is a to go situation), placed on an airfilled cookie sheet, used regular milk in place of the buttermilk, and added an extra 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. Kitchen smells like an Italian Bakery. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Robinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States