Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This turned out really great! This was my first time making carrot cake. I read some of the suggestions and here is what i changed: I did not use all white sugar. Wanting to make this a bit healthier i used Truvia (organic sugar substitute) and half dark brown sugar. I also preheated the oven to more than 350 ( i think i set it to 400). I also did not use all white flour but used half whole wheat. Instead of raisins I used cranberries and this added a great kick to the flavor of the cake. Even with these changes the cake was amazing. It cooked in about 45 minutes and came out fluffy. I used the Cream Cheese II frosting on this website. Was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I loved this cake! I didnt put any raisins, coconut or pineapple juice though. It was still very delicious. All my guests loved it! I recommend it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Way tooo goood!! Amazing!! Highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Very good! Didn't change a thing (except to use a scant 1-1/2 cups of sugar instead of an accurate full measure) - turned out perfectly. Not too sweet - moist and flavourful. Topped it with Cream Cheese Frosting II.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I consider myself somewhat of a carrot cake connoisseur. This is by far the best carrot cake I have ever made and tasted for that matter. And I followed the recipe, I didn't tweak anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa M. Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I made this for my husband's birthday using exact ingredients listed. It was delicious and better the next day. I made muffins with cream cheese frosting with lemon zest. I will definitely be making this recipe again. Lori
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Excellent, the only carrot cake recipe I've used for years. I have recently moved to AZ however and the altitude is around 7,000 feet, any tweeks I need to make would be greatly appreciated. I am using it as a base for a 2 tier cake & don't want it to fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Definitely make this a couple days ahead so the flavors meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Ma Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I made it exactly as listed and paired it with Cream Cheese Frosting II for my three tier wedding cake. Even people who don't like carrot cake loved it! Carrot cake lovers thought it was one of the best they'd had. Excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
The best my family has ever tasted !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,703) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States