Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I made this recipe years ago from a little old Italian lady I worked with named Maria Cassais. I lost the recipe, and tried today to replicate it from an old Alabama Junior League cookbook, and when it came out of the oven, I was so disappointed. So I checked and found Sam's Carrot Cake, which is the closest I can come to Maria's recipe. I mixed it up quickly, and left it in the oven the entire hour, afraid it would fall flat if I didn't. I just took it out, and it is GORGEOOUS. Texture perfect, Color perfect, Everything awesome. Im afraid to frost it, its so awesome looking. Cant wait to cut it and discover the taste. I used a foil 9 x 13 pan,(as it is a to go situation), placed on an airfilled cookie sheet, used regular milk in place of the buttermilk, and added an extra 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. Kitchen smells like an Italian Bakery. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Robinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I am a professional cake baker. This is the ONLY recipe I use, & I don't change a thing! I can't say enough times how AMAZING this carrot cake recipe is....super moist with just the right amount of spices. I have repeat customers because of this recipe. Thank you so much for sharing! Here is my cream cheese icing that compliments this recipe...it's simply amazing! 12 oz cream cheese (room temp), 4 t milk, 2 t vanilla extract, 2 sticks butter (room temp), 6 c sifted confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
As a long time carrot cake fan, this is by far the BEST one ever! The only change I made was omitting the walnuts in the cake, but crushed them up and sprinkled them on top as a garnish. Made it for my boyfriends birthday because it is his fav cake and he raved about it, and have requests to make for other people's birthdays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This cake is awesome!!! It's moist, flavorful, and easy to make. I grated half the carrots super fine and the other half on a regular box grater which gave the cake a oranger color. I also used golden raisins because they are "plumper. ". Stirred ingredients together with a wooden spoon. That easy. Turned out perfect! Everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
This was a perfect recipe!! I didn't have buttermilk, but a teaspoon of lemon juice and milk did the trick! It's moist, tasty, and overall delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hannagirl
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I made this first for my sisters birthday and I send in mail across the northeast packed in sarang wrap. She got it in perfect condition and it was super moist and super tasty! I made it few times in between and Again today for work. My friend at work who's an carrot cake lover said it was amazing too! I simmered my raisins in Orange juice and discarded the juice just like one of the reviews. I think that totally took the cakes's texture to a different level! You cannot go wrong with this recipe. I didn't use the walnuts however cause I don't like nuts in my cake but I'm sure it'll be just as amazing with any nuts. I also added 1:3 ratio of nutmeg:cinnamon, instead of 2 tsps of only cinnamon ( cause the hubby is a nutmeg fan!) This is the best carrot cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Made this last night it is tasty, but not carrot cake. I have a simple recipe for carrot pineapple muffins and it tastes exactly like that but without the trip to the store for the buttermilk i will never use. Also made the whipped cream cheese frosting which is not piping consistancy. Overall my kids think it's yummy, but just not what i thought to taste like true carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Town Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
This cake was amazing! ermergerd... I loved it so much. :3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Made this for a boy's birthday party and all kids raved about it. I followed the recipe as written, excluding the "extras," i.e., coconut, walnuts, pineapple and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,681) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States