Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Famous carrot cake is right. I did not make this myself, my aunt made this cake for Easter. I asked her if she made any changes and she just said she added a lot more shredded carrots. A LOT MORE. She did mention that she was worried about the cake turning out because the batter was very wet.......but speaking as one who had a piece, it was the best carrot cake I have EVER HAD. Very moist, very flavorful. She iced it with Martha Stewart's cream cheese icing. EXCELLENT CAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I was very excited to try this recipe because it got such rave reviews. I made it according to the recipe, except I omitted the raisins and reduced the oil to 1/2 cup. It came out oily and dense and not very sweet. It was more like carrot bread than cake in my opinion. After re-reading the reviews, it appears most people made significant changes to the recipe and still gave it high marks, which is misleading to say the least. I don't think I'll be making this again. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
It's hard to rate this cake because the flavor itself was surprisingly good, but everything else was completely off. I originally chose this recipe because the other carrot cake I made from this site came out too dry and crumbly. This one had more wet ingredients and the pineapple sounded yummy. I followed the recipe pretty closely and only omitted the raisins and coconut. I baked it for about 45 minutes (I made a smaller amount to fit an 8x8 pan) and it had compacted into a really dense mass. It tasted incredibly wet, too, and at first I thought I hadn't baked it enough, but it didn't taste underdone. It was just so dense and moist that it didn't even feel or taste like a cake at all! I was very disappointed about that, but the taste itself was decent. I could taste more pineapple than I could carrot, but it wasn't bad. Overall, I'm pretty miffed that this didn't turn out well. I wasted good cake flour and frosting, and it made for a less-than-savory end to my Easter feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Followed exact recipe, didn't have too much flavor despite all the ingredients and ended up falling apart as it came out of the pan. It wasn't bad, but certainly not five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I hate to say it, but this recipe is so much better then my cc that I have been making for 45 years. I have made twice now once exactly as written the second time I used golden raisins that I plump up it warm water. The second time I didn't have buttermilk and the buttermilk is a must. could tell the difference. Golden raisins were much tastier. I also used a 9x13 pan and cooked for 40-45 mins. used a cream cheese icing and had a cake that was addicting. My husband ate almost the whole cake in two days ( I helped a little, lol) Give this a try you will enjoy immensely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Sounds like the ultimate carrot cake recipe on the back of a Betty Crocker cake mix box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This recipe is very similar to mine, except my cake has 2 cups sugar, and 1 cup drained crushed pineapple, and no raisins (although raisins sound like a good addition). My recipe has the following glaze that is poured over the cake when it comes out of the oven: Combine the following ingredients in a 3 or 4 qt. pot -- 1 cup sugar, 1/2 tsp. baking soda, 1/2 cup buttermilk, 1 cube butter, and 1 tsp. white corn syrup. Bring this mixture to a boil, stirring constantly. Reduce heat and boil for 5 minutes. Keep stirring. Remove from heat and stir in 1 tsp. vanilla. Pour over hot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
ive been making this particular carrot cake now for yrs..by combining 2 of my fav. recipes and making them into one it truly gives you the ultimate carrot cake.. its no wonder your grandfather received such rave reviews. its a shame i have to limit myself to making it just once a yr.. (Easter). otherwise id be eating it for breakfast lunch and dinner. lol..Happy Easter Everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Mine was cooked perfectly at 45 mins! Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
My husbands favorite is carrot cake, so I am always looking for a great one to try. He loved the fruit bits and it was really moist. The only thing I changed was omitting the walnuts.(He doesn't like those in his carrot cake) I think next time I might use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil only because it's healthier. I always try to make the recipes the same the first go round before I change anything. I'd make it again. I used the cream cheese frosting recipe from the Awesome Carrot Cake with cream cheese frosting found on Allrecipes. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States