Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Made this for a boy's birthday party and all kids raved about it. I followed the recipe as written, excluding the "extras," i.e., coconut, walnuts, pineapple and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made this recipe for my family and one for one of the teacher birthday at school. Everyone was in love with the cake they all gave this recipe five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Delicious! I use whole milk with a tablespoon or vinegar instead of the buttermilk and omit the raisins only because I don't like them. It is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovenmygirls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Made as written but omitted the raisins. (Fam doesn't like them). My issue is that my cake was done at 40 minutes. I used a 9x13 pan. Initially, the cake was dry but after refrigerating overnight I did become moist. Flavor is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Use a 9 X 13 pan, over flowed the 8 X 12
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I havent made this cake but I am about to try this.. Just a thought, Does it work with substituting some of the white sugar for Brown sugar? Will post my review after this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abeeryassin
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
So good So moist So flavorful :D It's a bit sweet from all the raisins and pineapples so I decreases the amount of sugar by 1/4 cup Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This recipe was wonderful; I omitted walnuts and coconut. It was moist, and just the right amount of sweetness. Thank you for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by di19681

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Yup, it's delicious. Perfect, really. Great for those who want a carrot cake that is moist and delicious but not greasy and not too sweet. Wouldn't change a single thing. I made it in 3 8-inch round pans and cooked it for 22 minutes, mostly because I was in a hurry and wanted it to cook faster. It was perfect and made a beautiful layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I call this my "Kitchen Sink Carrot Cake" because it has everything but the kitchen sink in it! I have made it several times along with a simple vanilla buttercream icing and have had rave reviews each time. My family tradition is to make a bunny cake at Easter each year and this one was certainly a hit. Sometimes if I want to add an extra layer of richness I'll throw in some chocolate chips, but it really is delicious just as is. I plan to make this for my daughter's first birthday to go along with the Peter Rabbit theme. If you like carrot cake, you will love this one! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States