Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Very moist and flavorful. No need for icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Bassett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This five star rating is for the cake as written in the recipe, and for being so customizable! I've tried many different carrot cake recipes, and this one is my favorite. When intended for guests or my husband and son, I follow the directions exactly and it always comes out perfect. Sometimes, I omit the pineapple or coconut according to their tastes. With or without frosting, it always gets rave reviews! When I make this cake for myself, I make changes due to dietary preferences. I halve the recipe and substitute half the oil for applesauce, use whole wheat flour, reduce the sugar to 100 g (half a cup), 50 g of which is muscovado and omit the pineapple. Sometimes I add orange zest, or use plain yogurt if I have no buttermilk. I bake in an 8 1/2 x 4 1/2" loaf pan for 45 - 50 mins. This cake, as it is according to the recipe or with customizations, is the absolute best. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
The best carrot cake by far! I didn't add the raisins (hubby doesn't like them) but the cake was still fantastic! Everyone loves, loves, loves this recipe! Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Willz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Magnolia, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Amazing! I only bake it for 43 minutes, and it comes out perfect! I skip the coconut, simply because I don't care for it. Frost it with the Cream Cheese Frosting II! This is my favorite cake in the whole world!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
does anybody know how much this makes for??!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaylee Lytle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
delicious, i love carrot cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
OMG!!!! I've had some good a$$ carrot cake before but this right here. Perfection!!! I'm talking eyes rolling to the back of your head knee buckling satisfaction with every bite. These rave reviews are redundant and here is another one to add to the collection. I cook a lot and tried several recipes from this site but after trying this one I had to write my first review. This is the first and last carrot cake recipe I'll ever try. Modifications included baking in 2-9 inch pans and 4 cupcakes for 35 mins. Added 1/4 tsp nutmeg, ginger, and allspice and used cream cheese II recipe from site. The raisins were omitted from the cake due to my family's preference but for the 4 cupcakes I added raisins (boiled in OJ then drained). Both were amazing however I liked the cupcakes better because I like raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristi McAloon
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This was the first Carrot cake I have made from scratch. My husband is a huge fan of carrot cake and he asked for one for his birthday. I had a high standard to live up to and he absolutely lived it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi McAloon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I usually use the Carrot Cake III recipe but had a yearning to try something different. I did add 2tsp of baking soda to this recipe because I was afraid of it being very heavy and I wanted two layers. I substituted a 12oz jar of Smucker's Pineapple Sundae Topping instead of the crushed pineapple and holy cow that was the best thing ever done to a Carrot Cake, in the history of Carrot Cakes. Omitted raisins and coconut and instead of cinnamon I used 2tsp Badia Five Spice which just brings it all together. I will definitely use this recipe in the future for my base recipe I just have to add my tweaks and the sundae topping has go to be my new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BitchinKitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I'm a pretty tough critic. But was very impressed with this GREAT and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,645) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States