Sam's Famous Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This is pure carrot cake bliss! I have no idea how it has that one negative review -- it's truely outstanding. I do mine as a layer cake (2 round tins), and use a creamcheese buttercream frosting that holds its shape better than a flat common creamcheese icing (I like to pipe a nice border). I have no idea how this recipe could get a bad review unless they really messed it up. I've been making cakes for 20 years and this one tops all carrot cakes I've made or tasted. I make them the night before, cool them, wrap them airtight and keep in the fridge. The next day the moisture is evenly distrubuted and it's nice and cold for the frosting to go on. If you like a really moist cake, dripple on a sugar syrup (sugar disolved in warm water then cooled) before you frost the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Literally the best carrot cake recipe ever! Nothing is better! Made the recipe exactly how it said and it was so moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Absolutely wonderful. This carrot cake is moist and delicious. I had some pretty picky eaters that absolutely loved it! I did half the white sugar with brown sugar and added nutmeg. Also used canola instead of vegetable oil. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa Watson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jess Jo
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
My husband said this is the best carrot cake he has ever had!!! I did make two changes. I used butter not oil and I don't like walnuts so I left them out. I used my own cream cheese frosting recipe. They are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Best carrot cake ever. I use a 9x12 pan and frost top excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This so good. I followed the recipe exactly. It was a really big cake. The longer it stayed in the fringe the better it got!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This is the best for a gluten free adapting I have tried so far. I substituted Namaste perfect blend flour. I used 2oz lemon juice in milk for buttermilk and and extra 1/2 tsp of soda. It took longer to bake even in a convection oven and ceramic baking dish and turns out a little sticky as is common with gluten free flours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I tried this recipe because of all the fabulous reviews, let me tell you that it was not disappointing at all. I made it for my husband who is a very picky eater and he loved it, but when my son who is an even pickier eater said he loved it, I knew this would be the recipe that I would keep for carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veriuxus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Yummy! I made them into muffins. They don't raise a lot though. I added some candies pineapple (because I had it). I like raisins and microwaved them for 1.5 minutes with some brandy to hydrate them. I would make them again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
This needs to become my signature cake. Although it is a bit time consuming, it's sooooo worth it. Sure to impress with a cream cheese frosting. Natal helped me make this cake the first time and said it was "the best cake ever."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,768) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States