Samosas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I've had many samosas & sambusas, but the first time making it. I strayed away from the full recipe but it was a great guide!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashleigh Hope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
The only change I made was ground chicken instead of the ground lamb. That aside, these were amazing. I go to a local farmers market and have tried all the samosas for sale and these ones are comparable. In fact they are better than half of the vendor's ones. Fabulous! If you are having trouble with the dough you can use wonton wrappers for mini samosas or egg roll wrappers for larger ones, however they are not very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McLellan
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Excellent filling! So tasty! This was the first time I've made my own samosas, and they were impressive. However, the water for the dough needs to be adjusted. I used about 1 cup and it was still not enough. Next time I'll use about another 60ml extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
These did not turn out well at all! When I placed them in the oil they fell apart. Also, the filling was too pungent and overpowered by the ginger root. I would suggest ginger powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
These were wonderful! Make sure to roll the dough realllly thinly otherwise it puffs up to much when you cook it in the oil. Definitely making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This is a delicious recipe! Instead of using ground lamb, I used a small can of peas and carrots as well as one and a half boiled and chopped russet potatoes. I left out the green Chile,s,, used mustard powder instead of turmeric, and cut the salt in half. My only issue was that the recipe made more filling than dough, so I would double that next time. But I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Jolley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ashburnham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Very good, I make these lots, although I fail miserably at making them into perfect triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Loved them! I also had to add double the water. The meat filling was AMAZING! Made according to the recipe. The shaping of them was pretty bad. They looked nothing like the picture. But that is my fault. Need to work on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Very easy to make and straight forward. The dough recipe lends it's self to many types of filling. I made mine with a sausage filling and they went fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sutter Creek, California, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I gave four stars because for me, the filling is the best part-- I didn't care for the dough. I used puff pastry dough instead of the recipe dough and baked it. I like to pretend this is healthier than frying it. I have made these as the recipe calls for, and also vegetarian with cubed potatoes, peas, and carrots. I also needed to half the lemon juice for the vegetarian version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States