Samosas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
This recipe is GREAT. Even though I don't typically choose to eat lamb, I liked this. I would also recommend trying it with other ground meats. Perfect blend of spices, and given that it's a somewhat lengthy process the end result is worth the time. Also - we had to add a lot of extra water to get the dough to be able to be kneading, probably more than twice as much water as is called for in the recipe. This is kid friendly when it comes to making the samosas - but not the frying parts of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This recipe was delicious! Because I'm a vegetarian I replaced the lamb with a mixture of potatoes, peas, and carrots. I also used apple juice instead of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tobanj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
This is delicious. I've made it several times now for my guests and each time they get eaten up very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I used ground turkey instead of the lamb and it was excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
OMG!!! TY so much for posting your recipe!! my daughter loves it!!, and she would only eat samosa's from one dear friend who we dont get to see that much anymore!, so ty!! it brings a smile to her face!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Midg

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Very easy to make and straight forward. The dough recipe lends it's self to many types of filling. I made mine with a sausage filling and they went fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Vallance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sutter Creek, California, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Loved them! I also had to add double the water. The meat filling was AMAZING! Made according to the recipe. The shaping of them was pretty bad. They looked nothing like the picture. But that is my fault. Need to work on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
These were wonderful! Make sure to roll the dough realllly thinly otherwise it puffs up to much when you cook it in the oil. Definitely making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
The only change I made was ground chicken instead of the ground lamb. That aside, these were amazing. I go to a local farmers market and have tried all the samosas for sale and these ones are comparable. In fact they are better than half of the vendor's ones. Fabulous! If you are having trouble with the dough you can use wonton wrappers for mini samosas or egg roll wrappers for larger ones, however they are not very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McLellan
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I've had many samosas & sambusas, but the first time making it. I strayed away from the full recipe but it was a great guide!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashleigh Hope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States