Samosas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This recipe was delicious! Because I'm a vegetarian I replaced the lamb with a mixture of potatoes, peas, and carrots. I also used apple juice instead of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tobanj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
This recipe is GREAT. Even though I don't typically choose to eat lamb, I liked this. I would also recommend trying it with other ground meats. Perfect blend of spices, and given that it's a somewhat lengthy process the end result is worth the time. Also - we had to add a lot of extra water to get the dough to be able to be kneading, probably more than twice as much water as is called for in the recipe. This is kid friendly when it comes to making the samosas - but not the frying parts of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Perfect Blend of spices!Great Recipe, but the dough is not right. I had to add a lot more water than called for. Otherwise, finished product is fabolous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I used ground turkey instead of the lamb and it was excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
I was hoping to get the taste of the samosas that I had some years ago, but using this recipe didn't do it. Unless you use an awful lot of garam masala, the cost of this multi-spice isn't worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bullard, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I used another pastry I really liked and added potatoes and more spices, but this recipe is really a great idea on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonagold

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Good recipe. I was not sure whether the recipe called for 1/4c water or 1/4 + up to 1/4, but I did the dough in the food processor and used over 1/2 cup. I only had enough dough for 16 samosas because the circles were too small to cut in half, so I made them in the shape of pierogies. I threw some finely diced potatoes in th the meat which was a nive touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
It does take a bit of work, and my stuffing wasn't quite as good as I hoped. But the dough recipe was perfect! I think I would use larger circles of dough next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
This is delicious. I've made it several times now for my guests and each time they get eaten up very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
These did not turn out well at all! When I placed them in the oil they fell apart. Also, the filling was too pungent and overpowered by the ginger root. I would suggest ginger powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States