Sammy's Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Awesome recipe Uncle Sammy!! Our family really likes this recipe, and it's very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I make these the same way except two things...I boil a large pot of water, remove it from the heat and bathe the peppers in the hot water for 5-10 minutes. Then I partly cook the ground beef with the onions and garlic and drain, so I can get the grease out of the ground beef. Then I fill the peppers with the exact ingredients you have listed on your recipe and they go in the oven for about 45 minutes or so. Sometimes after they come out of the oven I top them with shredded cheese. This is a fantastic recipe and thank you for reminding me of it...I have not made this in years, so this weekend Stuffed Green Peppers we will have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Delicious, fast and easy! Would've given it 5 stars but it was a little runny/watery. It didn't affect the taste but it wasn't pleasant to serve to guests so drippy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Used way less tomato sauce, and had some orange bell peppers that needed to be used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Pretty delicious!! Although, I must admit I changed the recipe around. I dont eat beef, so i used turkey instead. And instead of tomato sauce i used "EL PATO" sauce, the yellow one. Because i love spicy food. I also added monteray jack cheese into the mixture and sprinkled plenty on top. i love cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Pretty good. My only complaint is that there's a lot of liquid making things runny. Next time, I might remove the foil for the last 20 minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I made this recipe a little different; I browned the ground beef first then mixed it with the celery, tomato sauce, garlic, celery, cooked rice and cilantro. Then I used that mixture to stuff the peppers and cooked them for only 30 minutes. Came out delicious! My husband ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
These are okay but there is not too much flavor. They were very soggy with a lot of liquid in the pan. I think it would be a good idea to brown the meat first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Great flavor, changed it a little bit, I cooked the beef first didn't use an egg and did what one review said and added cilantro. I also used mamwich instead of tomato sauce. Put a little olive oil on the outside of the peppers and broiled them on high for about 10 minutes, Weren't runny/watery or bland at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
My hubby loves my stuffed peppers. Tonight I used red peppers (on sale), microwaved a couple of minutes. Hubby likes the peppers really cooked. Then I stuffed them with a "meatloaf" mix of beef, pork, veal, breadcrumbs, egg, onions, cooked brown rice, little marinara, and of course FRESH GARLIC! Baked 350 for 20 minutes, then top with mozzarella and romano cheeses, bake 10 more minutes. Add extra marinara on top if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyl46

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forest Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States