Samhain Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Only small change: I used 1 C. white sugar and 1/2 C. brown. Bread doesn't rise much, and was done in about 45 min. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I have no idea what Samhaine means... but.. very good pumpkin bread. The only thing I wasn't crazy about was that the top was sticky (and I just so happen to like a crunchy top). Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gidgette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
In case you're wondering, Samhain (pronounced Sow-en) is a high holiday for Pagans and is known as Halloween to most everyone. As for the recipe, it rocks! Very moist and just really flavorful; I didn't have to tweak it at all. I took it to a potluck celebration and it went over very well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This is the best pumpkin bread I've ever had! My kids were all over this. I doubled the recipe for two gigantisaurus loaves. Perfect for Samhain, perfect for Yule also! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I made this as muffins for our Samhain celebration this year--they were wonderful, and everybody liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
i am going to whip this up and freeze slices for yule this year. along with various other recepies i have collected and saved perfect for yule though i am going to add a little sugar over the top and broil for a min for extra crunch on top so it will hold up better to the freezing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aura_bryt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Grayland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I LOVE this bread! Have made this several times now and it's been perfect every time. My only modification was skipping the cloves and adding more cinnamon, because I didn't have any cloves around. I found the recipe as written was just right for one 9x5 loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Bread is super moist, easy recipe that makes 2 loafs !! I didn't have allspice so used pumpkin spice & tried it with 1 C of white sugar 1/2 C dark brown sugar as suggested in a review. 100% delicious! A definate Keeper, Thank you for posting it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wareham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Stunning! The BEST! I added dried cranberries...it's lovely, a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I used frozen pumpkin puree but didn't quite have enough so I substituted mashed banana. I also used 3/4c white flour, 3/4 c whole wheat flour, 1/4c wheat bran and 1/4c oat bran (extra dry ingredients to account for the moisture in the pumpkin). Some recipes don't do well with flour substitutions, but this one is great! My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States