Samhain Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Tried this last night. Doubled the recipe because we had that much pumpkin. Out of allspice, so used a little extra cinnamon and clove, added a dash of ginger. The bread took longer to cook than 60 minutes. One reviewer said in a 9x13 pan they turned out like brownies. There is nothing brownie like about them. The muffins went to work, and disappeared. I had no problem with it rising. Definitely going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Best, most moist pumpkin bread I've ever made. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinity  Saffer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Made this last night and SO happy I did! It's the best flavored, perfectly moist bread I have made to date. Made 2 loaves, (omitted the nuts because it's not my thing) and my family of 5 devoured it - only half of a loaf left 12 hours later. I love that it's not full of veg oil or butter - perfectly perfect. Will be making mini loaves or perhaps muffins to put in my holiday baking baskets for family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I found when I followed the recipe I used one large bread pan instead of two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DEINAM
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Cleaning out my cabinet I found some canned pumpkin & decided to try this recipe. It's really easy to make, tastes great and makes a nice "not to sweet" dessert. I used 1 cup all purpose flour and 3/4 bran flour. I made one loaf without nuts & the 2nd with pecans (out of walnuts). This will be a go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made a loaf AND 12 muffins/cupcakes. Didn't have allspice; subbed ginger. Didn't have walnuts, subbed toasted pecan pieces. Also added bittersweet chocolate chunks, just 2 ounces so as not to overpower the pumpkin or spices. I DIE! So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
delicious! I made this with butter instead of oil, and split the white sugar with brown. Great color, shape, and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I made 2 changes, used 1/2 cup walnut oil (expensive) and 1/2 cup canola oil plus reduced the white sugar to 1 cup, loved it - baked within the time listed - had never ground my own coriander before - wow smells so good - did toast the walnuts - have added this recipe to my favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This has been a hit with my whole family. I made two loaves for Thanksgiving and they quickly disappeared. Very delicious and pretty easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Awesome! Coven kids were all over it! Stole one whole loaf before we caught them, and they are picky eaters. Definitely a keeper! With the amount of fertility magick in here, too, it would be great for Beltane, substitute apple puree for love and fertility and apple pie spices instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyTwilite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States