Sambusa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
I loved the recipe. I am from africa and that is exactly how they taste. Instead of deep frying though, i fry each side of the sambusa at the time in about a half cup of olive oil then place them on towel after they are golden. it helps to keep them less oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
This was *excellent* I ended up making it with potsticker wrappers, and was duly impressed! The spice mix is wonderful and it makes just the right amount of food. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This recipe is awesome. My husband is from Kenya and I suprised him with these and he was very impressed. I've always deep fried them as the recipe suggests, but I'm going to try the pan frying method some of you have suggested. Thanks a million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I really like this recipie... this is my favorite dish during Ramdan, and actually all around the year. I like to use regular tortillas for the wrapper. I cut them in half, and fold them into a cone, and seal them with the same paste. The tortilla doesnt tear as easily, and cooks up really great. Instead of 2 pounds of meat, I use one pound of meat, and one pound of diced boiled potatoes. I cook it the same way, and just add also a small amound of curry powder and garama masala to give it any extra kick. If you want to, you can freeze them right after making them, and when you want to make just a couple, pop them in the microwave for about a minnute or two (to make sure the inside is not frozen) and then fry them to finish the cooking. I like to make big batches, and enjoy them for lunch during the week! They also make a good fast-breaker! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
really tasty filling! I've been making sambusa for years, and searching for the somali version of it after being intro'd to it about a year ago. I always pan fry and drain on paper towels. I actually made my own wrappers (too much work) b/c my grocery stopped carrying the egg roll wraps....suggestion--DO NOT get the spongy type wraps if you want a crispy shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
amazing!! i had trouble with the wrappers because i am a klutz, and it was a little oilier on the inside then i like, but i think that was my fault too. Even with my mess up, i am making these every week! and 1 wrapper fille me up! they are soo good... By-the-way, i used deer meat (yes it is halal) and left out the leek and used just a little extra onion and it was still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Swank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
My husband buys these all the time from the Halal market, I made these and he said they taste a like, the only thing extra I added was dried parley, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Spink

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was excellent! I made some African Hot Sauce to use with this, and it was great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I try different sambusa fromd different country, the one I like the most by far...Ethiopian sambusa it very flavor full and lot of spices and herbs. Somali and Kenya is more bold and you need some thing to dip in. I love Ethiopian sambusa specially I had at the farmers market in Issaquah farmers market sambusa wraps or sambusawraps.com . It is fresh and crunchy you dont even need diping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
These are labor intensive, but delicious. Lots of cardamom flavor. You can make a version of these for many different cultures by changing the spices and substituting cabbage for the leek.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Algerian Kefta (Meatballs)

See how to make ground beef meatballs in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States