Salty Dog I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
This is a great drink! I love grapefruits with salt on them (everyone laughs at me), so this drink is perfect for me. I do cut back on the salt a bit, though...1/4 tsp. is a bit much. Anyway, thanks! (By the way, I hope I don't mess up the rating by giving it one star on the kid rating--they're not supposed to like it cuz their not supposed to try it! LOL)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I won't laugh at you, Heather. I love grapefruit with salt. This is a great drink, salt and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Simple yet so delicious. I had never had a salty dog with vodka. I used freshly squeezed grapefruit juice and I didn't measure the salt, just added enough to taste. I can't even taste the alcohol, dangerous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Really good! I was kind of skeptical of the salt but it really compliments everything well. And others are right, you can't taste the vodka. Dangerous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I give this drink the full 5 stars plus!! My husband introduced me to this drink. I couldn't even taste the vodka, which came back to kick me in the butt. LOL.. I don't even like grapefruits, but this drink is awesome. I just have to take it a little slower from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
A salty dog has been a favorite. The way I have always had it was with vodka, and instead of putting the salt in the drink, you moisten the rim of the glass and dip it in salt. Refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Yum. This is my new summer cocktail. Very refreshing! I used ruby red grapefruit juice, added a splash of lime and agave and I salted the rim of my glass. Drinking one right now! Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frugal-Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
A good brunch drink. I was originally introduced to it as an alternative to the Bloody Mary. One thing though, the way I'm used to preparing it is with a the rim of the glass covered in coarse salt, a la a margarita and a cocktail straw. It lets the person drinking it control the amount of salt, in case they just want the fruit juice and liqour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Good, but I've been drinking salty dogs for a long time, and the salt needs to be on the rim of the glass...imo : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBACK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I love salty dogs!! I am a regurlar drinker of these and this is a good receipe. I though use half grapefruit and half water because i think sometimes the grapefruit gets to over powering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salty Dog Cocktail

See how to make a simple vodka and grapefruit cocktail with a salty rim.

The Vortex Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a sweet and fruity vodka cocktail.

Covent Garden Cocktail

See how to make a refreshing vodka, cucumber, and lime juice cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States