Saltine Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I had a recipe similar to this years ago but it is lost now so thanks for putting this one up. It is a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
My daughter and I found this recipe last year and it is delicious. And didn't have to cook for as long as the English toffee recipe calls for. Will make more closer to Christmas, otherwise I'll eat them all. Marlis in Tucson AZ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I followed the directions exactly and they tasted burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Follow the directions and it works every time. MUST STIR the entire time while boiling the butter and sugar. After it comes to a boil, turn down stove and use a light boil for the 3 minutes. I use a jelly roll pan and line with parchment paper. When cooled I put in freezer for at least an hour. Try with the mini pretzles. It is even better. I don't use the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
These are easy and everyone loves them. If it comes out grainy, the sugar didn't cook long enough or too long. I use the 'ball' test, where you have a glass if ice water next to the pan and drop small amounts of the caramel into the glass while cooking. When the caramel forms a ball immediately it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
We make these every year and call them "Christmas Crack" :) We make 3 batches, using Ghirardelli chips for each: dark, milk, and white chocolate. You absolutely HAVE to use dark brown sugar for a deep, rich, toffee flavor. We don't do the baking in the oven for 5 mins before adding the chocolate chips - I think that probably makes them a bit crunchy - we like them a bit chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This recipe is similar to one given me by a friend. She uses Graham Wafers instead of Saltines. I prefer Graham Wafers/Crackers - excellent option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I've made this recipe so many times that our family calls it Christmas Crack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsAltmiller
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I made these as holiday gifts for my coworkers. One of them said "these are more addicting than crack". She's right. They are so yummy and oh so good. I used an 11x17 cookie sheet with sides and lined it with non stick aluminum foil. This was super easy. One important tip: mix the butter and brown sugar together until combined over low heat - then bring it up to a boil and DO NOT STIR IT!! No matter how badly you want to. Let it boil for 3 minutes and pour it over the crackers. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I have made these many many times over the last few years and they are SOOO good. My advice(I'm sure this has been said already!) make sure you use real butter! Margarine just won't work right, I found that out the hard way. Don't count your three minutes until it STARTS boiling. Don't use too big of a pan! I have a set of three cookie sheets and the middle one is the best by experience. Don't leave them in the oven too long!! I have scorched them and though they were still yummy, they had a distinct burnt flavor. There CAN be too much chocolate so stick with the two cups, don't be tempted to add too many. Ok, I think that's it, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 929) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States