Saltine Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I've made this before, but couldn't find the recipe I usually use. I found this one and it looked about the same. To my dismay, it wasn't. The cook times (both in the pan and in the oven) are too long, which burns the sugar. As a result, the toffee is very, VERY bitter. Also, 2 cups of chocolate chips is not enough. It creates a super thin layer of chocolate once you spread it out, and a thicker layer is better. With these modifications in mind, it would probably work out to be just fine, but as is it isn't a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I haven't had this treat in about 4 yrs. I decided to cut the butter to 1/2 cup (1 stick) and substitute 4 T. of light corn syrup. I was able to still completely cover all the crackers. I baked mine at 350 for 5 minutes - just until they were bubbly on top. They were as fabulous as I remembered them!! I set my pan outside (since it was 27 degrees) for them to harden. I was a bit concerned the bottom might not harden properly but they came out great! If you are wanting to cut some of the fat and not compromise flavor use the corn syrup. (I gave it 4 stars because of my changes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
GLUTEN-FREE VERSION... I followed this recipe exactly... had to come up with a gluten-free treat I could make within 15 minutes of leaving the house! ...took time to read only one review. I had a box of gluten-free crispbread mfg by Schar (a crispy saltine-type of cracker.) Walked away from the pan to quickly get ready while butter/dark brown sugar was boiling for 3 minutes - never thinking to stir! Returned to the stove - hoped I hadn't ruined it... but after reading reviews later, found that was the correct way! I did use foil - just to keep things neater, so that worked out great! Baked at 400 for 5 minutes. Used Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate chips - put back in oven for a minute, as recommended, then spread with spatula. Used walnuts chopped finely in food processor, then toasted in toaster oven to bring out nutty flavor. Hurried and put hot baked "toffee cookies" still in jelly-roll pan (which I use as a cookie sheet) in a box and back of truck to cool in winter weather while we drove to granddaughter Lily's dance recital. When the recital was over, we all met at the back of our truck, broke up the "toffee cookies" and dug in. No one could believe they were made with crackers - or that they were gluten free! Absolutely delicious! Thanks for all the hints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
YOU JUST HAVE TO TRY THESE!!! THEY ARE WONDERFUL!!! I HAVE ALREADY MADE 3 TIMES THIS WEEK....EVERYONE THAT HAS TRIED THEM TAKES SOME HOME AND WANTS THE RECIPE....TO GO...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
SOOOO good! I would recommend lining the cookie sheet with foil and then spraying with cooking spray to help lift off the toffee easier. Also, put the toffee in the fridge for a couple hours to help set it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I do this recipe every year! My family loves it! Use a cookie sheet and cover it with parchment paper then put down the saltines. I never have a problem with sticking or messes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
These cookies were given to me as a Christmas present by one of my fifth grade students last year. I loved them and asked for the recipe. I was given the same recipe that appears here. They are yummy and a hit with everyone. Quick and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I also used a jelly roll pan, at least that is what my mother calls it, 11x17 or 18 I think. And boiling the Brown sugar and Butter in the microwave makes it much easier and less chance to burn. Doesn't take long at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I have a toffee recipe about the same as this without the saltines. I could not taste the saltines in this, it crunches the same... With or without saltines, it's a delicious toffee recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Love these! Make sure and line the bottom with foil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vcannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 131-140 (of 924) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States