Saltine Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I just made these as I had ingredients on hand. Taste wonderful...I did not line the pan with foil and will do so next time. Also my chocolate chips did not melt...oven not hot enough or I did not leave in long enough. Think I panic when I saw the spill over in the oven. Thought I melt chocolate in double boiler and pour over then allow to cool. The brown sugar and butter is a memory of the Sees suckers we use to get in Cal. yum O! Easy and will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
What a great tasting recipe that's so easy to make. I did read the reviews and lined my jelly roll pan with foil and used cooking spray. One sleeve of saltines worked fine, any more and your toffee will be too thin. Toasted the pecans, used a 400 degree oven for 6 mins and when I boiled the dark brown sugar and butter I used a Thermapen® to check the temp at soft crack stage 270 - 290 degrees in order to take the guess work out of the boiling time. I will probably use milk chocolate chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I made the recipe as directed but did use more chocolate and nuts than what was recommended. Used a non-stick pan and hadn't any problem with sticking whatsoever as I didn't line the pan or spray it with anything. Turned out great, but if I did have one small issue, it was that some of the cracker/toffee separated from the chocolate when cutting. Not enough to cause a problem, but would have preferred it not. I did cool it entirely at room temp and did not put it in the refrigerator to cool. It was completely cooled when I cut the pieces. I loved it and my friends will be getting some to sample.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Followed the recipe to a T. Crackers and caramel and chocolate is completely stuck to my cookie pan. I put it in the deep freezer for 15 minutes desperate to freeze this batch and then break it off frozen. NO GO. This is totally stuck to my favorite pan. It tastes great! But line your pan somehow, seriously!!! Or you'll end up like me, disappointed and now with a ruined pan. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina-Bo-Bina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I did try this recipe and like every recipe, you have to make it once to learn what you did right or wrong. I made these a second time using graham crackers instead of saltines and make just a little more of the butter and brown sugar mixture and those two additions really made it into a five star recipe. I love the ease of this recipe - it is a brilliant concept and this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
My family LOVES this recipe!!!!! I have even tried it using a mixture of chocolate and peanut butter chips and even a chocolate and butterscotch chip mixture. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Very good and easy. Did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I knew about this recipe from a friend, and looked it up on all recipes to find the ingredients. This is a really easy cookie to make, and it is always a 100% hit! I don't know who came up with the idea of cooking them at 400°, I tried this recipe (thank you for the ingredients) but I found that cooking them in my oven at 400° burned them to a crisp. That batch was toast. The second batch I made with this identical recipe but cooking them at 350° came out perfect. Perhaps it's my pans, perhaps not. As an little joyous addition, I placed about 12 candy canes into a heavy duty Ziploc bag and crushed them up, and instead of nuts I sprinkled the candy dust on top! They were wonderful as a little Christmas treat that I took to a party, and they were a hit! One of my all-time favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Has anybody from high altitudes made these with success? I followed the recipe exactly with timing the boil and everything and still the toffee was grainy leading me to believe this needs to be adjusted for high altitudes (I am over 6500 feet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Absolutely love it so is my kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nampenny
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 927) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States