Saltine Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Fantastic and such an easy holiday gift to prepare. Around the holidays it is nice to give a home-made gift and this one couldn't be easier. I did take the suggestion of another reviewer and used n 11x17 jelly roll pan and increased the number of saltines to cover the pan (the rest of the ingredients remained the same). I also used parchment paper (didn't have to spray it). I used a metal spatula to spread the chocolate. I tried using a plastic flexible one and it wasn't spreading easily--the metal one made it much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Short of hacking off slices from a packaged cookie log, this is one of the easiest sweets I've made. The crackers were making me question this all the way through, but it shouldn't have. I used foil to keep cleanup to a minimum, and with all the butter, nothing stuck. Make sure to start the timer for butter/sugar after it's actually boiling. Pour over crackers immediately. You don't have to be too perfect spreading over crackers, because it will spread out in the oven. Sprinkle chocolate chips right after you take out of oven. Wait the 5 minutes. It will look like they aren't melting, but will spread right out if you wait. Sprinkle the nuts. After cooling about 20 minutes, I did put it in the freezer for about 10 more minutes to help harden the chocolate. Not too long in the freezer, or the chocolate might separate from the toffee. Cut or break, and enjoy. Trust me, you WILL enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I'm just going to have to keep trying with this recipe. The first time I tried, I didn't use foil and I ruined my jelly roll pan, despite liberally spraying with cooking spray. I knew it was ruined anyway, because I stirred the caramel the entire time, and I'm not sure what was wrong with my chocolate chips, but they looked almost grainy as I spread them. I used Nestle Milk Chocolate. This time, I used a glass pan, but it looked awful coming out of the oven... Soggy? I put the melted chocolate on it anyway, and I can see a layer of grease forming along the sides of the glass... I'll wait to see how it sets up, but I suspect I will try again with a regular jelly roll pan and release foil. I'm determined to make this work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aquariusgal
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Awesome!! Very additictive ......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aquariusgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
My daughter-in-law just sent some of these for us to try. Awesome! I would like to make using the hard shell chocolate so they wouldn't be as messy :) these are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Delicious! But make sure you stick with the semi-sweet chocolate chips as the milk chocolate chips don't melt as quickly and aren't NEARLY as spreadable as the semi-sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
this is my go-to recipe for gatherings... cant get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I came across these at a Farmers/Craft market a few years ago and the kids and I loved them. I knew I had to find the recipe. And here it is. Soooo good! And easy to decorate a bit depending on the occasion.....add candy corn or orange/black sprinkles for Halloween, crushed candy canes for Christmas.....really any little decoration for any occasion if you so choose. In my opinion though, you don't need to change or add anything! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
OOOHHH MY...These were soooo easy and so addictive!! Followed the recipe exactly as written :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 988) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States