Saltine Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
made this tonight but I used 2 packs of crackers, 4 sticks of butter, 1 cup of splenda brown sugar, 2 bags of white chips, and on top I crushed up 3 oats and honey bars and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leona76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pioneer, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Sometimes I have had something weird happen with this recipe- we still eat it! However, I am curious why the butter and the sugar sometimes get separated and grainy. I melted the butter from frozen- wondering if this might be why....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Way too greasy from the butter. It separates from the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Lynn
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
So yummy! I used aluminum foil to line my pan...I'll use wax or parchment paper next time! Otherwise, these were so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I made two batches of this recipe, one using salted butter and another using unsalted. I preferred the salted butter one a lot more, it gave it more flavor. When you're making this, be sure not to get the toffee burn in the oven (burnt toffee is nasty). I think it would help if you spread the toffee out as much as you can before putting it in the oven, so the sides won't burn! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Absolutely wonderful recipe! Although be careful not to burn (I did first time). I stirred frequently to prevent the sugar and butter from burning and it turned out great the 2nd time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksharpe525

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I made it twice now....It is wonderful and a quick and tasty gift. I am wondering if I can freeze this???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I love it but I cook mine at 350 which has reduced my ruining it significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Only the crackers around the edges crisped up. Crackers in the middle stayed soft. Prefer a toffee recipe withou crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I've made this before, but couldn't find the recipe I usually use. I found this one and it looked about the same. To my dismay, it wasn't. The cook times (both in the pan and in the oven) are too long, which burns the sugar. As a result, the toffee is very, VERY bitter. Also, 2 cups of chocolate chips is not enough. It creates a super thin layer of chocolate once you spread it out, and a thicker layer is better. With these modifications in mind, it would probably work out to be just fine, but as is it isn't a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 923) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States