Saltine Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Very Very Good!! A little too much chocolate for me, but other than that, wonderful. I've also tried this recipe using graham crackers and just then pecan. Also WONDERFUL!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
REDICULOUS! AND SO MUCH FUN! Teen daughter calls this "CRACK-ers" it is sooo addictive! When I saw this I had to try it- I love toffee and am now terrified for my bikini now that I know how delicious and simple this toffee treat is to make! I made 2 batches on (2) 11x15 jelly roll pans allowing for more crackers(left no spaces) but didn't increase the other ingredients so the toffee layer may not have been as thick as if I had used a smaller sheet/fewer crackers- but plenty plenty to coat everything nicely. I made one batch with a good dark chocolate and one with regular ol nestle semi sweet chocolate chips- the dark chocolate was by far my favorite. Wont use the semi sweet again- as it was a bit too "waxy" in the finished product and I didn't love the flavor nearly as much. Think it would be really fab with milk chocolate too. Make sure you put into a HOT oven to keep the sugar cooking to a golden toffee-you don't want the sugar to cool. After cooling thoroughly - I covered both sheet pans and put in the fridge overnight. Just finished breaking/chopping it all up- very easy when cold. If you're making this for gifts I recommend doing this when no one is around or you have nothing left!! (sill pat on sheet made it super easy to lift off AND to collect and store all the broken bits for ice cream later). I just finished putting into gift boxes- I have to get this out of the house ASAP or it will never make it! :-) I'm happy to have found this silly delicious recipe- thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
My Mom used to make these for years and years at Christmas. She will be gone 15 years May 2014 so I've been making them for our Christmases ever since. They are wonderful, delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I am begged to make these every year! Kids, neighbors, coworkers etc. I have read the reviews and have picked up some helpful tips. Here are my 2 cents.I use Heath Bar chips (instead of pecans) on mine and it takes it to another level. I make about 10 pans of this every Holiday. !. Must have non stick foil wrap. YES NON STICK KIND. 2. Use your timers! 3. Don't touch the butter and brown sugar mixture once it starts boiling. Boil for three minutes. 4. I use heath bar chips (located in baking aisle)Once the mixture comes out of the oven I sprinkle them over the bubbling mixture and then put back into the oven for 2 mins. 5. Then I take it out and sprinkle the semi sweet chocolate chips on it aprox. 1 cup. Let it sit on there for two minutes or so and when soft I spread it around. I used to put the chocolate chips on then put back into the oven and for some reason it makes them hard to spread. Just let the heat of mixture soften them. 6. Buy a silicone spatula. It does make a difference 7. Let it sit out for at least 30 mins before putting in fridge. This lets it absorb into the cracker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Fantastic recipe - you would never guess there is a saltine in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This stuff should come with a warning label! It is highly addictive and incredibly delicious! It looks like you worked on it for hours but it's very easy to make. My husband can't keep his hand out of the jar where it's being stored! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Great, fast recipe. However, I didn't have enough semisweet chips, so I used Ghirardelli milk chocolate chips for half the amount. These chips are much larger than regular chocolate chips, and they don't melt or even soften after 15 extra minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Use Graham crackers and top with a little sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Wow! I couldn't imagine saltine crackers making something that tastes this good! The bonus is that it is an inexpensive food gift you can give for the holidays. (I think I would prefer milk chocolate chips on this)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Super easy and super delicious! I followed all of the suggestions from the other reviewers ... bring the butter/brown sugar to a boil and then allow to boil for 3 minutes without stirring, line the pan with foil (I used non-stick foil) and lightly spray with cooking spray, and put the pan back in the oven to melt the chocolate. The hardest part was resisting the temptation to stir the toffee mix!! I let the pan cool down for over an hour and then placed the pan in the refrigerator. Cutting the bars into uneven pieces was easy and clean up was a snap. I am bringing this cookie to work for a cookie exchange tomorrow ... I am sure they will be a hit with my co-workers! Next time I will try the crushed candy cane topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 981) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States